The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Contemporary culture is determined by the current era of a population. In order to understand the current state of a society, one must draw an analysis on the trends of the youth, since they provide the most current status in art, technology, and political and social values. The youth provides foresight in the future of a population, thus it would be true that an exegesis on the current youth trends will help understand the effects of a current population.

Contemporary culture can be described as the current trends of a population, in which the youth dominates the aspect of what is popular in the modern day society. For instance, the trends in art, such as fashion and music, can help understand the current culture of a society. Society has evolved each decade in the type of style people are accustomed to, in which the youth plays a dominant role in forwarding these trends. For instance, during the 1970s of the United States, youth fashion was centered around tie dye shirts and flared pants, whereas in the 1980s, fashion was centered around bright and vivid colors. Likewise, the type of music the youth listened to determined the state of a society. For instance, the 1950s was all about Rock and Roll, whereas in the modern day society of the 2010s, electronic music became more popular in the youth. Furthermore, the youth does provide valuable insight into the contemporary culture of a population, which can foreshadow future trends in what the youth is moving towards.

Additionally, the youth can offer valuable aspects in understanding the values of a contemporary society, especially in the age of digital technology. With the vast development of technology, it has provided an overt opportunity to understand political and social views. For instance, with the use of social media, the youth has been able to advocate their thoughts and opinions. The current state of racial inequality has been broadcasted by the youth through social media in order to object to the injustices of people of color, which is an issue that continues to trend since the 1900s. On the other hand, using digital media has allowed the youth to express their tastes in what is fashionable in clothing, trending in food, and what is one’s favorite video. Henceforth, understanding the youth’s use of technology and the digital media reveals what a society is more interested and forward in. Understanding their trends in political and social values will help understand the state of a population.

For the aforementioned reasons, it is likely to understand a contemporary society based on youth trends. The youth has provided valuable insight on what is the current state of the population in terms of art, technology, and even political views. Hence, one would have a better shot at developing an assay on a contemporary society based on youth trends, since it can provide foresight on where a population is progressing in the future.