The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum from the business manager of a television station, viewership will be increased by expanding the coverage on weather and local news on all news programs. The conclusion is based on the complaints about decreases of weather and local news and the loss of advertising contracts. However, in order to assess the merit of the argument, a number of unstated assumptions must be examined. If the assumptions are unsubstantiated, then the argument is unwarranted and completely falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that all viewers want more weather and local news. The author depends on the evidence that most complaints were made on the station’s coverage on weather and local news. While an increase in the coverage of national news was made, it may not necessarily mean that complaints were based on the minimal coverage on weather and local news. Perhaps, most of the complaints that were made were due to the inaccuracy in weather predictions. On the other hand, it could be possible that the complaints made on local news did not demonstrate coverage of events in the area. If the above possibilities are true, then the assumption would not support the argument.

Secondly, the author implies that advertisers are less interested in national news and more interested in weather and local news. The author relies on the loss of advertising contracts after an increase in national news has been made. However, it could be possible that local businesses removed their advertising contracts in order to save money. Local businesses may be facing an economic downturn or period. Perhaps, local businesses removed their advertising contracts in order to spend more money on another merchandise or need to enhance the franchise of their businesses. Therefore, if the local businesses removed their advertising contracts in order to save money or place income for the flourishing of their own franchise, then the author’s assumption holds no water.

Lastly, the author assumes that the only way to increase viewership is to increase the coverage on weather and local news. The author relies on the premise that the complaints of viewers and loss of advertising contracts were solely due to an increase in weather and local news coverage. However, there is not enough substantial information to determine whether or not viewership was lost when coverage on national news was made. It could be possible that an increase in viewership may not be due to the favoritism of national news, but engagement of news anchors and the accuracy of information being presented. Additionally, and increase of viewership may occur if viewers are more likely to watch the news at a certain time, such as early in the morning or late in the evening. Therefore, the increase in viewership may nkt necessarily happen if viewers are not interested in and increase in weather and local news. If that is true, then the author’s argument falls apart.

In conclusion, the argument is filled with a number of unstated and unaddressed assumptions. Substantial evidence is needed in order to strengthen the argument, such as providing detail on where the complaints of viewers are coming from. Additionally, the author must provide evidence on why local businesses removed their advertising contracts, which can be done by providing a questionnaire or simply by calling the local businesses. Lastly, the author must provide a survey to viewers on what specifically would increase their likelihood of watching the news. If the answers demonstrate that increase in viewership is not due to an increase in local and weather news, then the author can address the need accurately. Furthermore, if the author does not provide sufficient and relevant information, then the author may be losing viewership and addressing the issue incorrectly.