The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of the Sartorian company argues that the company will resume production and increase profits better than five years ago. While the argument may have some merit, it is rifed with unaddressed assumptions. Particular evidence is needed to evaluate the validity of the argument. If the author fails to provide substantial evidence, then the argument is unwarranted and completely falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that production will resume due to a new fabric supplier. The premise behind this assumption is due to the scarce availability of resources five years ago. While having a new fabric supplier will resume production, the author must provide evidence that the new fabric supply provides quality wool. If the wool is not of high quality, then customers may not be interested in buying from the company. Additionally, evidence is needed to show that enough employees are on field to produce alpaca overcoats. While the company may have the quality fabric, because they have been shut down for five years, they must prove that essential workers are in line to produce the material. If not, then the argument fails. To strengthen the argument, the author needs to show that the fabric is high quality and employees are able to produce the coats.

Additionally, the author implies that customers are demanding alpaca overcoats since the competing company does not produce alpaca overcoats. However, evidence is needed to show that customers are interested in alpaca overcoats. Perhaps, the company no longer sells alpaca overcoats due to the customer demand of other styles. Within the five year gap that the Sartorian company was not in production, the fashion of society may have changed. If that were to be the case, then selling alpaca overcoats would actually waste the company’s profits. The author must provide a survey on customers that asks whether or not they are interested in alpaca overcoat. If not, then the argument falls apart.

Lastly, the author assumes that customers are willing to pay more for alpaca overcoats due to increased prices in most clothing items over the years. While increased prices require that customers pay more, it doesn’t necessarily mean they are willing to pay. Perhaps, customers are paying more for clothes that they do like or need, such as baby clothing, lingerie, or fitness attire. If customers are paying more for clothes that they need or are interested in, then it would indicate they are willing to pay more. However, if customers are not interested in alpaca overcoats, then they would not spend more. The author needs to provide a census on expenditures that customers over the years have been paying more for clothing related to alpaca wool. If not, then the argument is unsubstantiated.

In conclusion, the argument has a number of unaddressed assumptions. The author must provide evidence to support the argument, such as surveys and data, to prove that production will resume and increase profits. If customers are not interested in alpaca wool or not willing to pay more for the item at increased prices, then tha company will lose profit and will be at a worse state than five years ago.