People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree with the statement that people’s behavior is largely determined by forces that they do not have control over. Whether it may be children or adults, behavior is influenced by factors within one’s environment, such as one’s setting at home and school, or one’s stance from political and technological influences. While it can be argued that outside forces out of one’s control does not determine people’s behavior but rather forces of their own, uncontrollable forces have a larger impact on behavior.

In the basis of psychology, it has been argued that influences within one’s environment can affect behavior. One’s own home environment and surrounding community influences behavior. For instance, children are highly susceptible to behave accordingly to forces that are out of their control. At home, if parents demonstrate a large influence of activities in reading, writing, playing, and healthy eating, children are inclined to read, write, and play, which enhances their development. However, if parents do not prompt healthy activities, then children are capable of falling behind in school and fitness. Therefore, outside influences that are out of children’s reach can influence their behavior, since parents have more control over their activities. Additionally, the surrounding community outside of home also plays a major role in human behavior. For instance, adolescents are influenced by peers at school, in which exposure to their behavior is out of one’s control. Adolescents are at an age where they are influenced by peer pressure. Therefore, being surrounded by positive or negative peers can influence them to take or disregard responsibility in choices.

On the other hand, larger forces can influence human behavior, such as political and technological innovation. In the domain of politics, laws and regulations that are established influence human responses within a society. For instance, the United States law during the 1800s that prohibited the African Americans to vote influenced their behavior to take part in political decisions. However, when the law was repealed in the 1900s, African Americans were able to vote and participate in society at a larger stance. Another large force that influences human behavior is technology. Technology has impacted the livelihood of humans. For instance, prior to the innovation of cars and other modes of transportation, people were accustomed to walking and perhaps using a horse to get to places. Today, people move quicker at the speed of transportation. Hence, larger forces of politics and technology are forces out of one’s control, which can play a major influence on human behavior.

While it may be true that uncontrollable external forces influence human behavior, it can be argued that one’s behavior is largely determined by one’s own influence. People with a strong internal locus of control show that external forces do not influence their behavior, in which they are able to take matters and decisions in their own hands. For instance, children do not always have to listen to parents, in which they can choose to decide whether they want to read or play a sport. Additionally, when they become adolescents, they may not listen to peer pressure and have a strong asset in making their own decisions and own friends. Therefore, one’s own influence does play a role in one’s behavior. However, it is not the largest determination on behavior. Forces ranging from one’s home environment to politic decisions and technology have a greater influence on humans and ultimately impact their livelihoods.