The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author predicts that restricting the water flow throughout the buildings in Sunnyside Towers complex will have a significant impact on increased profits. Although the author’s prediction has some merit, three questions must be asked in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the questions answered weakens the argument, then the author’s prediction would be unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly, how can the author assure that without the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustments would imply savings in profit? The actual readings of water usage before and after adjustments can determine whether people living in the buildings have used more or less water. If readings show that people used less water after adjustments have been made, then the author’s conclusion would be supported. However, if the readings after the adjustment show that there was no difference in the use of water, then it would invalidate the author’s prediction. Unless the author can provide substantial evidence whether water usage decreased, then the prediction is faulty.

Secondly, if no reports on shower problems have been made after the adjustments, then are they valid indications that there are no shower problems? Because the adjustments have only been made in three buildings, it could be that few or no people live in those buildings. Therefore, no reports have been made because there aren’t enough reports to be made. Therefore, the author must indicate whether the three buildings have a small or large population in order to determine water usage. If there is a smaller population of people living in the buildings, then of course the complex would save more money and have fewer reports. However, if there were more people living in the building, and no complaints have been made, then it would make a whole difference to the argument. If the author mentions a small number of people living in the building, then the prediction would prove unlikely to be true.

Lastly, how can the restriction of waterflow in three buildings determine savings for the restriction of waterflow in the rest of the twelve buildings? As mentioned in the last paragraph, there could be a possibility that fewer people live in the three buildings compared to the rest of the buildings. If more people live in the other twelve buildings, then there would be a difference in how much money is saved. Additionally, restricting the water flow does not determine whether people will use more or less water. People may shower more than once a day. Therefore, they are capable of using more water. Furthermore, the author must consider population size and shower usage in order to validate the prediction. If not, the argument fails.

In conclusion, the author must consider the answers to the question in order to validate the prediction. If the author does not provide relevant evidence, then the entire argument falls apart.