In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I can only agree to the extent with the statement that in most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge. Imagination has led to the development of unique works of art and progression in innovation done solely without knowledge or expertise in the field. The professional and academic fields of arts, literature, science, and technology are paradigms of the importance of imagination towards contribution to fields and progression in a world that continues to globalize. However, knowledge is equally crucial to the progression in and enhancement of professions and academic fields.

In the professional and academic world of arts and humanities, imagination has led to innovative oeuvers that shined light on the importance that knowledge was not needed to progress in a field. For instance, Beethoven was a blindly devoted musician who had no expertise or knowledge in the field of music. However, through imagination of what keys on a piano may look like and through efforts in creating unique opus, he was able to distribute musical pieces like no other. His contribution to the field of music showed that knowledge is not necessarily important, since a musician is capable of bringing one’s imagination to life can also lead to success. On the other hand, a writer like Ray Bradbury has shown the importance of imagination in literature. Bradbury used imagination to write books on dystopian societies that triggered readers to critically think about the world around them. Though his books were written decades ago, they are widely read in modern day education. Furthermore, Beethoven and Bradbury show that one is capable of contributing to their field through imagination, in which knowledge is not necessarily the most important part of the creative process.

Likewise, the field of science and technology have emphasized the importance of imagination in creating innovative works. For instance, Eratosthenes imagined what the measurement of the world was. With no prior knowledge to mount his research, he used his own creativity to construct tools to measure the earth by just using footsteps and a few sticks to determine angles and length. While it took effort, his imagination led to the understanding of the measurement of the world, which in turn proved accurate. Aside from science, technological advancement also requires imagination. Steve Jobs is a specimen of using imagination over knowledge. Jobs was not one who created the first computer, however he imagined what it would be like to improve the structure and creation of other devices. This imagination led to the Apple industry, filled with smartphones and devices like no other, which has led to dominate and assist the lives of people. Furthermore, imagination plays a crucial role in the development of knowledge and innovative works, in which knowledge is not the most important part.

While imagination is seen to be the most crucial part in the development of professional and academic fields, it does not necessarily mean knowledge isn’t important. In fact, knowledge plays an equal role. For instance, academic fields such as science and technology require knowledge of scientific methods and tools in order to determine new experiments and conclusions in research. Knowledge on past innovative works also help to enhance future innovation and development in technology. Therefore, knowledge does play an important role since it does provide benefit in the use and understanding of creative works in professions and academic fields.

Furthermore, I do agree with the statement to an extent where imagination has played a more important role in fields and professions. However, knowledge is equally important to the process, and should not be ruled out or seen as entirely inferior, which in most cases is needed to enhance knowledge and understanding.