Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout history, many important discoveries and creations were intentionally done in order to progress in the world we live in today. Therefore, I cannot agree with the statement that many important innovations were accidental on the basis that seeking the answer to one question led to the answer of another. In fact, many pertinent discoveries have been solely made on the focus of one inquiry that required arduous attention.

When we take a look into the field of science, discoveries were not whimsical, which required a strenuous amount of work and effort in order to answer one question that would enhance our modern day knowledge. For instance, the scientist Eratosthenes asked a simple question with regards to the circumference of the earth. He wanted to know what the measurements specifically were, and in order to answer that question he spent months calculating the shape of the earth by using footsteps and sticks. Traveling by foot to determine the distance and angle between two locations took a lot of effort with minimal access to technology, however, it led to answer what the circumference of the earth was. Henceforth, the discovery was intentional and solely focused on one question rather than losing track to lead to another answer.

Likewise, the field of technology has led to innovation that was not made by individual whim. By focusing on the demands of society and the vast progression of the world, ingenuity was created to answer one question, which required effort and focus. For instance, Henry Ford sought the need to enhance transportation for the greater society, which ultimately led to the production of cars. On the other hand, Steve Jobs did not create the computer, however, sought the need to enhance technology use and created the Apple products. Therefore, innovators like Ford and Jobs focused on one question in order to improve the vast development of technology in order to meet the needs of society, which fostered vital creations to assist our developing world.

While I agree that important discoveries were not subject by chance, there have been many germane creations that were accidental. Many discoveries that intended to find the answer to one question led to the answer of another. Take Charles Darwin, for example, and his journey of the Beagle. Darwin’s mission was to provide answers to the question of how the world was mapped. His intention was only to provide a map of the locations he traveled to. However, he stumbled upon the Galapagos Islands and discovered evolution. In this sense, discovery was made accidentally, which fundamentally improved our knowledge of species and ecology. Therefore, important discoveries have been made without intention. Nevertheless, it does not necessarily mean that all important discoveries were made without intention when in fact have been made through taxing effort and focus. Therefore, we cannot disregard discoveries made intentional through laborious effort.

In conclusion, I disagree that many important discoveries were made unintentionally when in fact many have been done through strenuous efforts. The focus on one question led to the foundation of knowledge and innovation that has supported our vastly globalized world. Therefore, we cannot ignore those innovations made with intention and focus to answer one question that opened doors.