Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a democratic society, it is vital that government officials carry out the will of the people they serve. Many circumstances do not require inquiries with regards to the needs and desires of society, such as progression in the economy and well-being of citizens. Therefore, I agree that government officials should not question the will of people. However, I can only agree to the extent where the judgment of government officials is needed in situations where the will of society may not always be beneficial.

In many circumstances, to carry out the will of the people does not always need to be questioned, which can ultimately benefit the economic state of a society. Government officials should know that what people postulate for in a society can ameliorate the nation. For instance, in the 1920s of the United States, the urgency to pass equal rights for women played a crucial part in the progression of the American society. Government officials questioned whether women would play a vital role in society. However, if government officials did not take long to rely on their judgment to support equal rights for women, then the nation would have progressed sooner. Since the establishment of equal rights for women, women have been able to contribute to the economy during wartime and filled in jobs where employment was needed. Hence, not questioning the welfare of society would have benefited the economy sooner. Therefore adopting the recommendation is vital in progressing the state of a nation.

On the other hand, some desires do not need to be questioned as it can improve the livelihood of humans. For instance, the need to provide free education for all should not be questioned. Citizens with a low-income status would have an equal opportunity to obtain an education that would lead them to a job and remove them from the burden of debt. Therefore, if government officials adopted the recommendation, then it would improve the livelihoods of citizens. The economy would flourish as citizens would receive a higher education and have the potential to work and remove themselves from a low-economic status.

While adopting the recommendation has an advantage of improving the state of a nation, it can be quite onerous for government officials to carry out. The desires and wants of civilians may need the judgment of government officials. For instance, if adolescents argued that the drinking age should be lowered to the age of sixteen rather than twenty-one, then it would be necessary for governments to question and provide insight to the wants of adolescents. Lowering the drinking age may be desirable, but it comes with consequences as adolescents are more apt to take risks, especially when drinking and driving accidents are at a higher risk for young adults. Therefore, if government officials did not question the desires of society, it can ultimately backfire and increase unsafe measures for society.

Furthermore, I agree that in some circumstances, to carry out the will of society should not be questioned as it can benefit the state and well-being of a nation. However, I can only agree to an extent as the will of society may call for judgment in cases where risk is involved.