Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

When it comes to political pursuits, it is critical that the decisions made for set goals benefit and enhance the well-being of society. The prompt demonstrates two positions demonstrating whether pursuing an ideal or common ground should be the goal of politics. In my subjectivity, I mostly agree with the position that finding a common ground and reaching a cogent consensus should be the goal of politics. For that reason, it would help eschew heedless actions, incongruent relationships within society and members of politics, and foster development within a nation.

Rather than pursuing an ideal, finding a common ground and reaching reasonable consensus would avoid careless actions that would potentially harm the well-being of society. When taking a look at the United States government, the decision to ideally create a wall engendered harmful measures towards a minority group: immigrants. The creation of a wall not only led to imperil restrictions on who enters in and out of the country, but also led to hostility and oppression towards the immigrant population, such as separating immigrant families and caging children. Had the government took a decision that would lead to common ground and reasonable consensus would have eliminated chaos and harmful treatment against a population. The above example illustrates that pursuing an ideal can lead to precarious decisions that ultimately can harm the well-being of a society. While it is true that pursuing an ideal doesn’t necessarily harm a population, that can only be valid if consideration of the consequences in pursuing an ideal is considered. Therefore, reasonable actions are needed regardless of whether one pursues and ideal or reaches a common ground.

Additionally, the goal of politics that avoids an abrupt pursuit in ideals can form congruent relationships and promote unity. For example, political parties have opposing views when it comes to hefty topics of discussion, such as aboriton. The decision on aborition contains contrasting views on whether or not it is one’s right to save or destroy a life. For many circumstances, one party will always be in favor of saving a life, while the other will reason that it is solely one’s decision. This division in opinions can lead to division in congress. However, it does not have to be that way. Both sides can adhere to their ideals, while reaching a common ground on deciding what law should be made for society. The aforementioned example demonstrates that abruptly pursuing and ideal can lead to hostility and division within politics. However, it does not have to be that way if a silver lining is made, while most can adhere to their partialities. While it is true that pursuing ideals does not lead to incongruent relationships, that is only if people are on the same page of what they agree on. Therefore, a common ground is still necessary to avoid divergence.

Lastly, development within a nation should be considered when the goal of politics is to reach a common ground and reasonable consensus. If politics listens to what a society wants in the progression of a nation, such as free higher-education and promotion of equal rights for all, a nation would progress fairly. History has shown that if the United States had listened to society prior to the 1900s that women obtain equal standing in the work force and political inclusions, the nation would have had a leg up in the amount of citizens contributing to the economy and decisions of the wider population. Therefore, finding a common ground with the people can foster development in a nation that can perhaps lead to equal standing in what ideals to pursue that considers all.

Therefore, I agree that a common ground and reasonable consensus should be the goal of politics. Carfee and harmful actions can be avoided while the accretion of unity and development can be quite beneficial for all.