The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of Rialto Movie Theater claims that changes must be made to replicate the Apex Theater in order to prevent decreasing moviegoers. While the recommendation may have some merit, the argument itself is not cogent enough as it is filled with a number of unstated assumptions that need to be addressed. Hence, three questions must be asked in order to determine the validity of the recommendation.

Firstly, the author assumes that following the example of the new Apex Theater outside of town will increase moviegoers. However, we must question the location of the Apex Theater. It could be that the new Apex theater is running successfully and more attractively due to its location nearby a mall. Perhaps, many people are more interested in going to the movies near a mall; Or, it could be that because many people go to the mall, when they see a movie theater they are more inclined to attend. Therefore, the location of the movie theater may be the reason as to why moviegoers are increasing. If the author assumes that it is due to features only, whereas it may be due to location, then it would prove the prediction wrong. The author must validate that the location and population near the Apex Theater isn’t an influence to increased moviegoers.

Secondly, we must question the features of the new Apex Theater. While the features may draw attraction, it could be that customers are more interested in other features. Perhaps, a movie theater may be successful in providing a video arcade, plush seats and carpets, and improved quality of sound. However, many moviegoers near Rialto may be more interested in just the quality of food and quality of the films. If the quality of food and films are lacking in Rialto and are not addressed, then the manager following the features of the New Apex Theater may be addressing the wrong features to increase moviegoers in the area. Therefore, the manager must provide a survey indicating what features are needed to improve in order to maintain and increase moviegoers.

Lastly, the manager assumes that all moviegoers are decreasing due to high prices in films. However, we must question the evidence the manager provides. The manager indicates a survey that 85% respondents stated that increased prices of films will decrease likelihood of attending movie theaters. It could be that 85% of the respondents are people who rarely go to the movies, but try to make an effort. Perhaps, the people who responded to the survey were only 10, therefore indicating that only a few responders gave their opinion. If the survey had a large number of respondents and directly asked people near Rialto movie theater, then the author can assume that people are less likely to attend. However, if the survey indicates that only a few respondents answered and were people from another location, then it would not support the prediction that moviegoers are decreasing for Rialto.

Moreover, the manager provides a number of assumptions that need to be questioned and addressed. If the answers to the questions indicate otherwise, then the manager may be looking at the wrong features to improve and wrong data that supports nearby moviegoers decrease in attendance. The author must address the questions in order to validate the recommendation.