The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Bower Builders argues that in order to increase sales and profits, the company must construct larger family rooms and kitchens. However, the argument is not cogent enough since the argument holds a number of unstated assumptions that need to be addressed. The unstated assumptions must be examined in order to determine the validity of the argument. Indeed, if the assumptions do not hold true, then the entire argument falls apart.

Firstly, the author assumes that the survey demonstrates an accurate representation of what many people are interested in buying: a house with a large family room and a well, appointed kitchen. Although the survey reveals the desired features of a home, it does not necessarily determine whether people are interested in buying homes. The survey only mentions the desired features, but no statistics show that many homeowners have bought houses with those features. Therefore, the assumption does not hold true if many people are simply interested in those features, but no homes have been bought with those features. Hence, the author must provide accurate data that the national population has bought homes with a large family room and kitchen. If not, then the assumption does not support the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that what works the same for Domus Construction will work the same for Bowers Builders. The author implies that the company will benefit from modeling Domus Construction, a company that has the features of a large family room and kitchen sold at a higher price and faster rate. However, the company could have sold the houses at a higher price to taxes in the area and at a faster rate due to realtors who may have effective strategies in selling a house to customers. Therefore, if that were to be the case, then the assumption is unsupported. The author must provide specific data on the prices of the house, which may be due to other expenses, and why houses were sold at an expedite rate.

Lastly, the author assumes that recent buyers are indicative of what current buyers are interested in a home. The author states that recents buyers did not need a separate dining room for family meals. However, it could be argued that current buyers may be more interested in a separate dining room and kitchen. To avoid the mistake of building homes with non-separate rooms, the authors should consider a survey with a high representative population of home buyers on what they are interested in a home. Perhaps, only a few reported non-separate rooms, whereas a larger population of home buyers would disagree. Therefore, the argument would fall apart if many current home buyers are interested in separate kitchens and living rooms.

Moreover, the author has a number of unstated assumptions that need to be addressed in order to determine the validity of the argument. The author must provide valuable information, such as representative data and surveys that address the argument. If not, the argument falls apart, and the company would be wasting most profit and time instead with ineffective strategies and data.