The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that a decrease in birth-rates for a city may require reduced fundings in public education and increased fundings in adult facilities, the argument is not cogent enough to make such conclusions. The evidence provided by the author must be evaluated in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the evidence weakens the argument, then the entire argument proves unwarranted.

First, the author assumes that a declining birth rate in the city of Calatrava indicates that student enrollment in public schools will decline. The author provides evidence that last year’s birth rate was only one-half of five years ago. However, the evidence may be invalid. The author fails to indicate whether the birth rate five years ago was high or low. If the birth rate was 100, then only 50 were born last year. If the birth rate was 1000, then only 500 were born last year. Therefore, the author must evaluate whether a small or large number of births would be enough to determine reduced fundings in public education. If the evidence proves that the rate is higher, then it would weaken the argument to reduce fundings.

Secondly, the author assumes that an increased adult population is likely to happen due to a decrease in birth-rates. The author provides that because more adults use city facilities and programs, more funding must be implemented into their recreational activity. However, the author fails to provide sufficient evidence in regards to the adult population. Many adults may move out of the city and many adults with children may move into the city. There is a likelihood that the adult population may reduce overtime instead of increase. Therefore, the evidence weakens the authors argument since the implication that many adults use the city’s facilities and programs does not necessarily mean an increase in population. The author must draw a consensus of the population of adults throughout the years in the city of Calatrava.

Another assumption the author makes is that the reduction of fundings in one area would lead to sufficient money in another area. The author bluntly states that there should be reduced fundings in athletic playing fields and recreational facilities. While it may increase funding for adult facilities and programs, the author does not indicate how much money the city would be earning if they stopped funding athletic programs. If the funds are only a small amount, then it may not be sufficient enough to pay for the adult facilities and programs. Additionally, the author does not state whether or not citizens are less likely to use the athletic playing fields and programs. Therefore, the evidence weakens the argument that if the funds received were a small amount, then it would not be sufficient enough to pay for adult facilities and programs.

Evidently, the author’s argument lacks sufficient evidence in which the assumptions prove unwarranted. Unless the author is able to provide valid evidence of the child population, adult population, and amount in funds, then the entire argument proves weak and invalid.