College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing a field of study is a crucial and vital decision for college students that unfolds the choice and development of their career path. In fact, choosing a field of study wisely can determine the availability of job opportunities in the workforce. The statement claims that choosing a field of study should be based on how ubiquitous jobs are in that chosen field. However, I disagree with the claim as choosing a field of study based on the omnipresence of jobs has its disadvantages. Therefore, choosing a field of study solely on the above claim can actually impede career development and engender unhappiness in the future.

Historically, the prevalence of jobs in a certain time period has oftentimes become obsolete and ever-changing. Therefore, choosing a field of study based on the concept that availability of jobs have a rigid state can be misleading and lead to the inability to develop one’s skills and abilities in that field. For instance, during the 1970s, there was a high demand for nuclear development in the United States and other countries. Therefore, one who chose to study nuclear development had an advantage of obtaining a job after college to contribute to the demand. However, due to the emphasis of harm and necessity to reduce nuclear weapons in war and industry, jobs became more obsolete. Therefore, one may lose his or her job overtime and have the inability to enhance one’s skills in the field. The above example describes how jobs are not entirely secure, therefore choosing a career for the availability of jobs in the industry is not entirely promising and can lead to a disadvantage.

Likewise to the discordant view that choosing a field of study based on the rigidness of job opportunities, it can also lead to unhappiness. For instance, if one chose a field of study in computer science while ignoring his or her passion for the arts, then already the individual is at a downfall state to unhappiness. The individual may perform poorly in his or her classes. Although the individual achieves the pass all courses and obtains job experience while graduating with a degree and potential job opportunity, the individual would live in a dreary state for the rest of his or her career. Additionally, the individual may not perform as passionately and efficiently as others would if they were passionate about their own career choice. Therefore, choosing a field of study that may be out of one;s own interest and for the availability of jobs can lead to a somber approach to one’s career, which in turn can have a dreary effect on the potential of the economy.

While choosing a field of study for the availability of jobs has its disadvantages, few may argue that choice based on availability can lead to sustainability and perhaps, happiness. For instance, it would be wise to choose a field of study with high job perspectives after graduation so that one is able to work and not be left without payment. Most students come out of college with debt, and having a job available would relive them from being at the brinks of poverty. Additionally from being removed from a financial disadvantage, one would be removed from stress and have a sustaining income to get by with their lives. However, while this may be true, the above examples do not hold water. As aforementioned, history has shown that jobs and times are ever-changing and do not have a rigid state. In due time, jobs may become obsolete and even if the desire to have a job after college to pacify debt, the foresight of higher-education is to be free for all. Therefore, it is crucial that one chooses a field of study that does not necessarily have to be based on the availability of jobs.

Furthermore, it is crucial that one chooses a field of study not based on the availability of jobs. History has shown that jobs are likely to change and happiness is a crucial factor to fulfillment in life and prosperity of a progressing economy. Therefore, I disagree with the claim, as students should choose a field of study of their own choice as they have the equal ability to succeed and adapt to the changes of the workforce.