A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Students are encouraged to develop a well-rounded education that can ultimately prepare them for the vast globalization of the world. Therefore, it is crucial that students have access to learning a variety of subjects that may interest them and expand their skill set. If students were to learn the same exact curriculum, it prevents them from expanding their knowledge, skills, and uniqueness. Hence, I disagree that students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college, as it would not only be disadvantageous to students, but also they global community.

Studying the same national curriculum hinders students' ability to expand knowledge and skills needed for a globalizing society. The general subjects of math, history, ans science prepares students for the basic concepts of the world: such as how to count money, how to understand history's role in current events, and how to investigate with scientific tools. While the set of knowledge provided by a generic nation curriculum serves some benefit, it does not fully prepare students for a vast number of situations in a world that is apt to change. Therefore, students must be able to study other subjects that do serve purpose in expanding their knowledge, such as psychology and the culinary arts. These subjects not only prepare students with knowledge on how to interact with people and how to cook food, but also prepare them for a college's open range of studies. Thus, adopting the position to have the same national curriculum would impede students from expanding their knowledge and skill set.

On the other hand, adopting the same national curriculum would limit the asset of uniqueness in students. When applying for college, students will be equally prepared to enter, since they have studied the same subjects and material that prepared them for admissions. However, because students learned the same curriculum, all students applying to college will have the same application of courses taken. College applications are looking for students who have taken different courses and gained a well-rounded education, which will prepare them for college's range of studies. Therefore, if students all have the same application, none will stand out for college. Thus, implementing the same national curriculum prevents students from being unique in applying to college.

Likewise, because unique personalities are limited with the same national curriculum, students applying to college may be applying for the same subjects of math, history, or science. For instance, all students applying to be mathematicians, historians, or doctors may serve some some benefit in society. However, if all students were to be mathematicians, historians, or doctors, then it thwarts diversity in the workforce. While the world may need more mathematicians and doctors, it creates an imbalance. Because the world is constantly changing by the minute with the rise of technology and changes in social dynamics, we may be looking for more people with knowledge in computer science. Therefore, students studying the same national curriculum would only have access to generic fields of study and jobs, while avoiding other jobs that are equally important in the world.

In conclusion, it is vital that students do not study the same national curriculum as it would limit their knowledge, skill set, and uniqueness in a world that continues to change and look for more diverse individuals.