A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that heart disease can be reduced by ownership of a dog. While the argument may have some merit, it is not cogent enough due to a number of unstated assumptions. The assumptions must be addressed with substantial evidence in order to support the argument. If the assumptions remain unaddressed, then the argument is unwarranted and completely falls apart.

Firstly, the author implies that people who do not own a pet do not live longer and healthier lives. The author provides evidence of a study that reported pet owners living longer and healthier lives. Perhaps, this may be veritable. However, it could be that the pet owners of the study are also very athletic and active people. On the other hand, respondents may have strong genes passed down from generations of ancestors who lived longer lives. Furthermore, if the confounds of the study were not addressed, then the evidence would not support the assumption, since other underlying factors can contribute to longer and healthier lives. Therefore, the author must elucidate a randomized study of people who do and do not own pets and one that eliminates other influencing factors that may falsifie results. If not, the argument cannot be supported having a pet would lead to healthier lives.

Additionally, the author assumes that only dog ownership will reduce heart disease and ongoing treatment. However, the assumption is unaddressed since no substantial evidence indicates that heart disease and ongoing treatment is reduced by dog ownership alone. Heart disease can be reduced by alterations in diet and engaging in physical exercise. Additionally, heart disease may be more of a genetic predisposition that requires medication. Therefore, the author must provide evidence of a study that shows heart disease patients with reduced levels and treatment by dog ownership alone. If not, then the assumption would deem fallacious and hold no merit.

Lastly, the author assumes that more pets will be adopted through publicity of the program. However, if publicity is targeted only to heart disease patients, then there can be some potential setbacks in the amount of dogs that will be adopted. Heart disease patients may not be interested in dog ownership since they may not have room or financial support to maintain a pet. Additionally, many heart disease patients may be allergic to pets or have family members that are allergic to pets. If this is the case, then many dogs would not be adopted. A change in publicity would help support the assumption that most dogs would be adopted, such as advertising to the general public. More kids and families would be apt to adopt dogs. Therefore, more dogs would be adopted. If publicity is only narrowed to a smaller audience, then there would be flaws in the assumption and not all dogs would be adopted.

In conclusion, the argument is augmented with a number of unaddressed assumptions. If the author wants to prove that heart disease can be reduced by dog ownership alone, then a coherent study that eliminated confounds and other variables would help to support the argument. Additionally, changes in publicity would help to encourage dog ownership to a wider audience versus a narrow audience of heart disease patients. Therefore, the assumptions need to be addressed with substantial evidence in order to support the argument. If not, then the argument would prove faulty and incoherent.