There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that residents live longer and healthier lives in a relaxed pace of life in small towns rather than a hectic pace of life in big cities. The author comes to the conclusion based on the premises of fewer sick days, less physicians, and a higher average age population in the small town of Leeville compared to the large town of Masonton. However, because causation does not necessitate correlation, a number of alternative explanations are to be considered in order to determine the validity of the argument. If other explanations prove otherwise, then the entire argument is unwarranted and completely falls apart.

One alternative explanation could be that the population of Leeville has less people working compared to Masonton City. The author provides the fact that fewer sick days were reported taken by individual workers compared to business. However, it could be that the reports were collected from an unequal number of workers. Perhaps, only five people from Leeville reported sick days compared to Masonton City where perhaps fifty or one hundred people reported sick days. Additionally, the reports coming from businesses in Leeville may be from businesses that do not have the same level of work or exposure to illness than businesses in Masonton. Therefore, if these explanations are true, then it would go against the argument. The author must eliminate these external factors. If not, the argument is faulty.

Another alternative explanation could be that physicians are most needed in Masonton due to other reasons than the population being sick. The author mentions that Leeville only has one physician for its one thousand residents, whereas Masonton has more physicians for a residential population that is five times as high. However, it could be that the population in Masonton are mainly composed of children and young adults who require physicians to do physicals and seek care. Children get sick easily, which is a natural thing to occur in their development; And young adults need yearly physicals in order to maintain and keep their health in check. Therefore, more physicians does not necessarily mean it is due to a high paced life that causes a large population to get sick, but rather it may be due to other needs that are vital for general health. Hence, if this explanation were to be true, then the argument is fallacious.

Lastly, the author mentions that Leeville has a higher average age population compared to Masonton due to a slow paced life. However, it could be that the population in Leeville have a higher average age because there are no children of younger adults in the population to offset the average. On the other hand, it could be that the average age population is lower in Masonton due to a higher population of young adults. The town of Masonton may be fairly new and a wave of young adults had just moved into the city. Therefore, there would not be enough data to determine that the average age is lower due to the fast paced lifestyle. Thus, if this explanation were to be true, then the argument holds no water.

For the aforementioned alternative reasons, the argument is completely flawed as there are a number of alternative explanations. The author assumes that Leeville has healthier and longer lives due to a few sick days, a low number of physicians, and a larger average age. However, more evidence is needed to counter the alternative explanations, such as more data on demographics and where residents work. If not, then other factors may contribute to the argument and thus would prove it unsubstantiated.