The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that industrial development in a declining residential area would revitalize the neighborhood and open more housing availability. However, the argument is not cogent enough to put forth a renewal plan. Careful consideration of the evidence provided in the argument must be taken in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the evidence is not substantial enough to support the recommendation, then the entire argument falls apart.

Firstly, it is mentioned that ten years ago the industrial renewal plan altered the substandard housing in a city that increased factory development, decreased crime rates, and increased property tax revenues. The author assumes that what worked for the city will also work for the residential area on the other side. However, the evidence vaguely demonstrates how the city is similar to the residential area on the other side. Increased factory development does not demonstrate whether jobs were created to support citizens to pay for housing. Regarding decreased crime rates, the author does not mention how high crime rates were in the past and whether the decrease was a large or small percentage. Additionally, the author does not mention whether property tax revenues improved housing situations. Did an increase in property tax improve the living standards and were people able to afford housing? The author must provide substantiated evidence that fills in the missing gaps of evidence.

Secondly, the author mentions that the industrial plan that worked for the other city would revitalize the unoccupied housing and decline in residency. The author assumes that implementing an industrial plan is the only way to improve the housing situation. However, the author provides insufficient evidence to support the claim. Perhaps, there are alternative explanations for why residency decreased. For instance, it could be that many citizens are not fond of the weather in the area. Perhaps too many hurricanes or other natural disasters are constantly destroying housing and making it harder for residents to repair and pay for damages. On the other hand, it could be that residents find it cheaper to house at a different location. Therefore, implementing more factories would not address the situation if people did not reside in the area for weather conditions or payment. Therefore, the author must provide evidence that indicates why people are not housing in the area.

Furthermore, the author must provide substantial evidence to determine the validity of the argument. What worked ten years ago in one city may not work the same in another city. The author must provide demographics and statistical data determining the changes of the city and compare them to the city where the renewal plan would take place. If the data matches, then the argument can be supported. If not, then the crime rates and property taxes would not prove similarity between both cities. Additionally, the author must provide a survey or first-hand data that determines the reason why residents do not reside in the city. If residents do not live in the area for weather conditions or for payment obligations, then implementing factories and increasing property taxes would not revitalize the city and address the main issue.

Furthermore, the author cannot move forward with the plan unless careful consideration of evidence is made. With appropriate statistics, data, and evidence, the argument can be substantiated. If not, the renewal plan holds no merit and can jeopardize investment and time.