The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager for Happy Pancake House concludes that the change from butter to margarine has had little impact on customers because of their failure to distinguish between butter and margarine. Because correlation does not mean causation, other factors may contribute as to why customers have not reported dissatisfaction from the change of butter to margarines. In order to determine the validity of the argument, other factors must be considered. If not, the argument proves unwarranted.

One alternative explanation could be that not enough customers were surveyed to distinguish satisfaction from changes. The author states that only 2 percent of customers out of a population of 100 complained about the change. However, the population size may not be representative of the customer population from all of the Happy Pancake House Restaurants in the southwest. If only two restaurants exist in the southwest and a total of 200 customers dined in on a weekly basis, then it is safe to assume that most customers were satisfied. However, if there are 12 restaurants in the southwest where hundreds of customers dine in, then the sample size would need to be higher. Therefore, the author must provide a survey that questions the right amount of customers about the change from butter to margarine in order to accurately determine whether customers are satisfied or not. If not, then the survey shows no purpose in proving that people are satisfied.

Another alternative explanation could be that customers were unaware of the change. The author provides evidence that most servers report that customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter. However, the author does not mention whether the servers inform the customers about the change. Therefore, there is a likelihood that if people knew they were given margarine instead of butter, they may react differently. To avoid this ambiguity in the argument, the author must provide evidence that servers are informing customers about the switch and whether or not customers respond for or against the changes.

Lastly, the author assumes that people can not distinguish between the terminology of butter and margarine. However, the alternative could be that people were not surveyed to determine the differences. The author provides evidence that only 100 people were surveyed and most were satisfied. However, it could be that the survey only provided two choices to answer whether people preferred margarine rather than butter. If the survey was open-ended, then it will allow for an open opinion. Therefore, people may express whether they prefer margarine or butter in detail and whether they know the difference or not. Furthemore, the author must provide evidence that the survey indicates whether people are aware of the difference between butter and margarine in addition to the switch. If not, then the argument holds no merit.

In conclusion, other alternative explanations can account for the reason why customers are satisfied with the change. Because other alternatives exist, the author must address them appropriately by providing substantiating evidence through preliminary surveys and reports of customer awareness upon changes. Only then could the argument be validated.