The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries claims that the implementation of electronic monitoring will increase productivity and profits in the company. While the argument may have some merit, the argument is not cogent enough to validate its conclusion. The argument is rifed with unstated assumptions. If the assumptions prove unwarranted, then the argument is unsubstantiated and is in need for correction.

Firstly, the author assumes that internet usage is related to productivity. The author argues that internet access causes employees to use their work hours in order to engage in personal and recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. While this may be the reason for why productivity at work is low, the assumption proves unwarranted. Other factors may contribute to productivity, such as lack of sleep or not eating a proper meal for breakfast and lunch. These factors can cause employees to feel lethargic at work. Therefore, the implementation of an electronic monitoring system does not necessarily mean that it will increase the productivity of employees. Hence, the author may not benefit from the implementation.

Secondly, the author assumes that the implementation of the software on computers will prevent time wasted on personal and recreational usage. The author relies on the assumption that employees spend more time at work for personal and recreational use through computer and internet access. However, even if the software was implemented, it does not necessarily prevent employees from accessing the internet for personal usage. Employees who have access to the internet on their phones may turn to their smartphone devices at work instead. Therefore, the implementation of the software would not work. The author must put cameras in place or perhaps a manager on sight in order to ensure whether employees are distracted or not.

Lastly, the author assumes that profits will increase with the implementation of the software. The author relies on the mere implication that employees will become more focused in completing their jobs and enhance profits in the company. However, even if employees were no longer distracted and their work ethic improves, it does not necessarily indicate improved overall profits. Perhaps, an economic crash were to happen and profits did not improve. Or, consumers may stop purchasing products from Climpson Industries due to a competing company that has better prices. Therefore, the assumption may not hold merit in the argument, since other factors can influence the profit of a company.

In conclusion, the argument is abounded with unstated assumptions. Unless the author provides substantial evidence and addressed the assumptions, then the argument fails.