Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is true that society should identify children who have special talents and provide training at an early age. Children are like sponges who are quick to absorb information at an early age. Therefore, it is more beneficial and easier for children to develop their potential talents at an earlier age versus later in adulthood. Developing talents, such as art, music, and sports at an early age will help them build careers and develop good habits, which puts them on the path to success.

Children who develop their talents at an earlier age have an advantage of creating a career out of their talents. For instance, if children are seen to be skillful at drawing or painting, they can develop a career in art. With proper training, such as participating in art clubs or art classes, they can practice techniques and become masters by the time they become adolescents or even adults. Likewise, if children are seen to be very good at playing sports, with the proper training they can build potential careers. Proper training may include practicing soccer, football, swimming, or even running after school every day. When children become very good at drills and techniques in sports, they may have the potential to become professional athletes in the Olympics, National Football League, or even soccer leagues. Hence, picking out the habits of children and providing them the proper training at a young age can prepare them to become professionals in potential careers.

In addition to having the advantage of building a career at a young age, children can use their special talents as a form of medication. In this sense, children can learn to use their talents for good habits. For instance, practicing everyday to learn an instrument may not only help them become professional musicians, but can also help them find music as a form of meditation. Frustration at school or at home will allow them to use music as a form of meditation, due to the positive effects that music has on the brain. The same can be said with sports. Children who have temperamental outbursts may need to address their anger through an outlet. Therefore, practicing a sport everyday will not only help them develop technique and become novel players, but also help them release frustration. Furthermore, children will have the ability to learn a talent at an early age that may help them meditate in the future.

On the other hand, it can be argued that talent may not necessarily be identified at an early age, but later in life. For instance, a talent for cooking may be developed at the age of fifteen, where a teenager learns to love the art of cooking and can master techniques to become a professional chef. On the other hand, an adult may develop a talent for teaching, in which the adult develops good techniques of how to become an effective professor for college students. For the aforementioned reasons, it would be unfair for society to focus solely on children while adolescents and even adults are equally capable of developing talent at a later age. However, society would benefit from focusing on children and training them at an early age, since they are capable of developing careers and good habits at an early age that sets them up for the future.

In conclusion, I agree that society should focus on children and train them at an early age. While adolescents and adults are capable of developing talent, it is best to focus on a younger group so that they can be prepared for the future. Children should have the advantage of being successful and developing good habits when the opportunity is given to them, which can help them build a bright future.