Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

We live in a world that is filled with diverging societies who live, learn, and believe differently. Because of the diversity in the world, it is crucial to understand views that contradict our own rather than views that are in line with ours. Therefore, I disagree with the claim. Learning from other perspectives allows us to enhance our knowledge and easily approach multi-faceted scenarios in society. The reason behind the claim is true, however, only in the sense if we disagree with opposing views rather than learning.

With regards to the diverse world we live in, it is crucial to know how to communicate with others who have contradicting views. Whether it would be in school, the workforce, or even traveling to different countries, understanding the views of others will allow us to communicate more profoundly rather than increase stress and uncertainty. For instance, a colleague invites co-workers over for dinner on a Friday night, however disregards the religious backgrounds. While the colleague is aware of the religious differences of his or her own co-workers, the colleague fails to learn from their religious backgrounds. One co-worker may be Jewish and can only eat Kosher food, while the other co-worker is christian and cannot eat meat on a Friday for the passing of lent. Not knowing where others are coming from can create conflict and even stress. Therefore, if the colleague had learned other religious backgrounds, then it would have prevented stress at the dinner party.

Likewise, learning from other views that contradict our own can allow society to move forward in goals. For instance, in politics, opposing parties will never agree on the same issues. However, learning from each other can help achieve goals and future assets for the well-being of the nation. In our democratic and republican society, it is vital that both parties understand their opposing views, such as the notions on abortion. Abortion is a weighty topic where some members are pro-abortion and others are not. While both parties may not agree, it can help lead to understanding and how members can handle the situation when creating a law, which may be more feasible and in line with both views. Therefore, understanding opposing viewpoints can help achieve a silver lining when it comes to the benefit of society.

While the reason behind the claim is true, it is only true in the sense if the claim were to state that we can learn from opposing viewpoints rather than our own. Some may argue that we can learn more from similar viewpoints, which can ultimately enhance our understanding of our own beliefs. However, it impedes us from being able to enhance our knowledge in different scenarios, which causes us to develop parochial mindsets. Narrow mindsets will not allow us to understand how to tackle multifaceted issues of the world today. Therefore, understanding other viewpoints will prevent us from creating stress and avoid impedance in learning.

In conclusion, I disagree with the claim that we can only learn from similar viewpoints. It will impede open-mindedness and enhancement of our own knowledge on how to tackle diverging situations of the world.