The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that shortening work shifts will reduce the number of accidents in Quiot Manufacturing and increase the amount of sleep for employees. While the measures taken may be effective, the argument is not cogent enough to support the conclusion. The author makes a number of unstated assumptions that must be examined in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the assumptions prove unwarranted, then the entire argument proves fallacious.

First, the author assumes that Panoply Industries plant had fewer accidents due to shorter work shifts. However, Panoply Industries may have had fewer on-job accidents due to its disparate work environment. Panoply Industries plant may have more safety measures on the job site compared to Quiot Manufacturing, such as using hard hats and having safety locks on dangerous machines. Perhaps Panoply Industries plant trains its employees on job-site safety, which prepares them to be more cautious while working. Therefore, the author must provide specific evidence that the reduction in hours is the only contribution to the lower number of accidents in Panoply Industries plant. If not, then the assumption proves unwarranted.

Secondly, the author assumes that a deficiency in sleep is the only contributing factor to on-the-job accidents. The author provides evidence that experts claim fatigue and sleep deprivation to be “significant factors” to job accidents. However, the significant factors don’t necessarily mean they are the “only” factors. Perhaps it is not a lack of sleep, but a lack of training or awareness of safety measures. Workers may not know how to work a machine or may take precarious decisions that put their safety at risk. Therefore, sleep deprivation may not be the only factor at Quiot Manufacturing. Unless the author can prove that workers are lacking sleep and is the reason for their accidents, then the argument is faulty.

Another assumption is that shortening the shifts of workers will increase productivity and amount of sleep in workers. While shortening work shifts may have a positive effect on workers, it does not necessarily mean that workers will be more productive and have more sleep. Sleep is not the only contribution to productivity. What the workers eat and how motivated they are in their jobs are also contributing factors to productivity. Additionally, a reduction in work shifts does not imply increased sleep. How can the author determine that sleep is increased? Do workers automatically go home and think to sleep early? Or in other words, do workers sleep late regardless of shift hours? The author must provide valid evidence that workers use the extra hour for sleep. If not, then the assumption is invalid.

For the aforementioned reasons, the author must consider the confounding factors. The unstated assumptions justify the argument if the author provides lucidating evidence. If not, then the assumptions are not justified and the argument takes a downfall.