Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The role of corporations on society is to produce products that would aim for mass consumeration and profit. While this is ideal for corporations, however, their decisions in production and consumeration ultimately effect a range of societies and environments they work in. Therefore, I mainly agree with the statement that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. While the others believes it is a corporation’s responsibility to make as much money as possible when operating within law, there are downside effects to it, which would lead to cripple effects on societies and the environment, such as unfair working conditions and extinction of species.

Many corporations should tout the well-being of societies in which they operate in order to prevent practices of maltreatment that go against the human rights of individuals. For instance, large corporations, like Hershey and Apple, have made successful profit and influence from their products. However, it has been noted that their maltreatment amongst the societies and environments they operate in violate basic human rights. Hershey has made successful profit, however, used children Africa to manufacture cocao plants. On the other hand, Apple has placed workers in sweatshop conditions where human are not only unsafely handling chemicals for technology, but are also barely making and sufficient living wages. Often times, worked have suicided themselves for these conditions. The aforementioned examples show that while corporations are able to flourish in the global market, the societies and environments they work in should flourish as well, or else would lead to harm and violation of human rights.

Additionally, the effect of corporations on the environment not only impact the well-being of humans, but also other species. Large corporations rely heavily on resources, such as trees and plants, in order to produce a product. For instance, many packaging companies use boxes that would would be shipped to remote locations. The boxes are mainly a product of trees, which is a result from deforestation. On the other hand, products that use non-resusable material can impact the ocean banks and environment, where products are eventually dumped into landfills and polluted into oceans. Therefore, many plant and water species would be harmed by the products that are non-reuseable. Furthermore, it is influential that corporations take responsibility for their actions, such as replanting trees and using recyclable materials that would influence society to take better actions for the environment.

While it may be true that corporations should take responsibility on the wellbeing of the societies and environments they operate on,it could be argued that corporations have a greater responsibility in making profits when working under law. Under law, corporations would be able to produce an exorbitant amount of money that would eventually support the state of the nation. For instance, the profit could help subsidize many educational programs or perhaps support people in poverty. Although the money could benefit the wellbeing of societies and the environments when working under law, it can highly be counterproductive. No responsibility taken on the actions in order to obtain profit would be open to abuse on human rights and negligence towards the environment. Therefore, corporations should be hold responsibility in their actions since regardless they would still be able to make profit.

In conclusion, I closely agree with the belief that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and the environments they work in. Corporations lay a major influence on society, regardless of innovation, and would ultimately have the power to shape their lives and actions. Hence, it is crucial and most vital that responsibility be taken for that matter. Otherwise, we would be living in a world where progression would not be equally fostered for all.