The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree with the statement that machines are inferior to human minds because they are only tools of the human mind. While this may be true, history and current day events of technological advancement has shown the immense power that machines have over the human intellect, despite being created by humans. Therefore, the advancement of machines since the industrial revolution to modern day use of computers and smartphones have been apt to show its power over humans.

The historical evolution of machines have shown its power over the human brain. While machines have been created by the human minds in order to progress in societal matters, they have precariously harmed humans. Take the industrial revolution, for instance, when the vast development of factories and complex machines were created to produce textiles, manufacture clothes, and pack meats. While the machines were made and controlled by humans for matters of production and merchandise, they have been able to overpower humans when safety around these machines has not been emphasized. Women who produced textiles and were not careful with the machines have cut arms and bruised their skin. Additionally, children who unlawfully worked in factories surrounded by these complex machines have died for lack of safety and provisions over their worksite. Therefore, machines have the ability to overpower and harm humans. While it may be true that we have progressed from this period and improved in safety measures, there is no doubt how dangerous and powerful machines can be. Hence, when producing machines, one must be prudential in its development and understand the impact on humans when safety is considered, since there is a high chance of risk.

Additionally, the vast development of technology has shown how machines have been superior to the human brain. For instance, computers and tablets have shown to hold an prodigious and endless amount of files and data that no human brain is capable of storing. With this in mind, humans have looked towards the use of computers and tablets to help store and research information on applications, such as Google and Bing. In addition to computers, the usage of smartphones have shown superiority over human intelligence. Phones have been used for a variety of purposes, such as being able to detect one’s blood pressure and being able to set an alarm to wake up and start your day. These purposes cannot be done by humans alone who rely on these devices to get through their days. While humans have proven that they are capable of storing an immense amount of information by studying and by being able to take their own blood pressure and wake up by their own biological clock, the machines have proven to reinforce the lives of humans by moderating their challenges. Therefore, machines are superior when humans rely on them for multipurpose uses.

For the aforementioned reasons, it is not to say that humans lack intelligence. Really, machines have been able to be superior in situations where humans have no control over. As shown with the industrial revolution, machines have altered the livelihoods of humans by altering the workforce industry. By doing that, it has placed unsafe measures, in which humans were not aware of at the time. Slowly and surely humans have improved, however, it is still possible for machines to cause harm. Additionally, the technology industry has shown how machines have altered and impacted the lives of humans, making life demands much easier. However, computers and smartphones have been able to take over the way information is stored and how one goes about their day. The reliance of technology has led to the superiority and need of machines.

Therefore, I disagree that machines are inferior. Although created by humans, machines have been able to overpower and alter the livelihoods of humans, who continuously demand their needs.