The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of Movies Galore claims that all movie-rental stores must reduce operating hours and change inventory of DVDs in order to increase declining profits. While the argument may have some merit, it is rifed with a number of unaddressed assumptions. Specific evidence is needed to evaluate the validity of the author’s argument. If the assumptions are not addressed with sound evidence, then the argument is unwarranted and completely falls apart.

Firstly, the owner implies that increasing prices will not improve profits since they are famous for low prices. However, the author does not provide evidence indicating the failure of increased prices. Perhaps, customers are only interested in buying higher-priced films, which may indicate that higher-priced films are more notorious than lower-priced films. If this were to be true, then the author is missing out on an opportunity to raise revenue. Furthermore, the owner must provide substantial surveys that indicate whether customers are willing to buy lower-priced films. If not, then it weakens the author’s argument that increased prices would not benefit.

Secondly, the owner assumes that reduction in operating hours will decrease profits, since it worked for one of the chain stores. However, what works for one store may not work for others. Evidence is needed to determine why reducing operating hours was less of a complaint for one chain store. Perhaps, it could be that people in the are more active in buying movies during the day versus the night. If this is true, then the author must provide evidence that all customers in different areas are willing to buy movies prior to 6 pm. If not, there customers in other areas may actually have more time to buy movies in the night after work or other occupations. Therefore, the evidence would support the owner’s argument if it shows all customers are willing to buy movies at an earlier time. If not, then the argument falls apart.

Lastly the owner assumes that no one is interested in DVDs released more than five years ago. The owner provides evidence that very few complaints have been made. However, evidence needs to show that all customers are less interested in DVDs released more than five years ago. It could be that few complaints have been made since people in the area are more interested in newly released films. However, other areas may have customers who love a range of movies from that from the past and present. Therefore, the argument could be strengthened if evidence shows a survey of all customers from all chains complained very little about the removal of movies that were released more than five years ago. If customers survey they are more interested in current films, then the argument is strengthened. If not, then owner could be losing profit and potential customers.

In conclusion, the owner presents a number of unstated assumptions that need to be addressed with relevant evidence. If the author does not provide a number of surveys and evidence that shows the overall customer opinion on the changes being made, then the author could be moving towards a downfall in profits and potentially run out of business.