The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the claim that the main benefit of history is dismissing the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in early times. History has a way of significantly proving that humans are not that different from their ancestors in the past. However, because the world continues to change at a rapid pace with the help of technology, it can be argued that humans are quite disparate than those in the past.

Historical events prove evidential in how people are not that different from humans in the past. History has a way of repeating itself, which can be accounted for when facing challenges in diseases. For instance, when taking a look at the current state of the world today, the coronavirus is a virus that has not been introduced in the past. However, pandemics are not new to society at large. During the 1700s, the Black Plague was a pandemic that infected and decimated the lives of many civilians. In the early 1900s, the Spanish flu infected millions worldwide. Hence, historical events of diseases prove that humans in the past and present are susceptible to illness, which makes us no different.

On the other hand, human protests today are not that different from protests in the past. For example, the peaceful protests resemble what Martin Luther King promoted in the past with regards to racial inequality. On the flip side, the violent protests resemble the late 1900s when Rodney King was inequitably killed by a police officer, which sparked burnings of buildings and stores in Los Angeles. Thus, human revolts throughout history are not quite different from modern day protests. Humans are capable of resembling people in the past. Furthermore, it is undeniable that history shows how people are not that different from people in the past.

However, it can be argued that modern day citizens are quite different from people in the past.Technology has proven to be an evolutionary tool in changing the livelihoods of many civilizations. In a world that is continuously globalizing, people are living differently than they have years ago. Due to technological advances in transportation and communication, people are living different lifestyles. In the past, history has shown that people had to walk miles to a location. Today, many people take modes of transportation, such as cars, trains, and even bikes. Additionally, our ancestors could only communicate with others by delivering messages or even through face-to-face contact. Today, smartphones and tablets are used to communicate with people from across the room to across the globe. Therefore, we are not the same as our ancestors in the past. Despite this change, I affirm that people are capable of acting the same as people in the past even with technology. Diseases and protests continue to repeat despite advances in technology.

Furthermore, I conclude that history does have a major benefit in proving that humans are not that different from humans in the past. Even with the rise of technology and changes in they way people transport and communicate, we are still apt to face similar challenges as humans in the past did, such as the rise of diseases and protesting against injustices.