The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of a television station claims that the television station should restore time devoted to weather and local news in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing further revenues. While the argument may have some merit, it is not cogent enough to assert a conclusion. The evidence must be evaluated in order to determine the argument's validity. If the evidence weakens the argument, then the argument remains unsubstantiated and is in need for correction.

Firstly, the evidence needed for evaluation is the complaints from viewer's regarding the television's weather and local news coverage. While the author assumes that many of the complaints are in regards to the decreased attention towards weather and local news, the evidence does not suffice the assumption. The author does not mention the quantity of complaints. Were there 100 complaints or only 2 complaints? If only two customer complained, then it would not make an entire difference to the changes in coverage. Also, the author does not mention what the complaints were specificially about. Were the complaints ascribed to the decreased amount of time in weather and local news? Or were the complaints centered on the dissatisfaction of how accurate the weather and local news are? The evidence weakens the author's argument since it does not specify how many customers are complaining and what the customers were complaining about. Therefore, the author must provide evidence of an open-ended survey that documents the number and type of complaints from customers. If not, then the argument holds no merit.

Secondly, the evidence needed for evaluation is the loss of advertising contracts. The author assumes that local businesses cancled their advertising contracts due to the decreased weather and local news coverage. However, the evidence is not enough to support the assumption. Perhaps, the local businesses canceled their advertising contracts in order to save money and put profit into their businesses. On the other hand, local businesses may be running out of business and are deprived in funds to support advertisment. Therefore, the evidence weakens the author's argument that restoring time will prevent further adverstising revenues from canceling their contracts. The author must provide specific evidence indicating that local businesses are disinterested or simply are running out of business and need to put the profit elsewhere.

Lastly, the evidence needed to be evaluated is the increased and decreased time in media coverage. The author assumes that the decrease in weather and local news has led to decreased viewers. However, the evdience is not sufficient enough to support the claim. The author does not specify how long national news is covered and how little weather and local news are covered. Is the timing for national news only five minutes more or twenty minutes more? If national news are covered longer by only five minutes, then it wouldn't make must of a difference. However, if national news was covered for 45 minutes and only 5 minutes was left for wether and local news, then it would make a difference.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide relevant evidence to support the claim. If not, then the argument remains unsubstantiated.