The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The pertinence of preserving the environment is mainly dependent on the responsibility of human actions. Hence, it is crucial that humans take measures to prevent harm towards the environment as it proves vital to not only the livelihoods of the human race, but also other species and the sensitivity of Earth’s unique nature. The statement claims that the best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is to impose restrictions on the amount of trash accepted from each household. While I do agree with the statement, I can only agree to an extent as it is not the only best way to solve environmental dilemmas. Other actions must be considered in order to preserve the environment due to human waste.

It is verisimilitude that environmental issues can be moderated by compeling strict limits in the amount of trash being accepted. For instance, consumers may be enforced to be discreet in the amount of trash they can hold in their household. Additionally, consumers may put a limitation on the amount of items they consume, which in turn would limit the amount of trash that would go into landfills. However, as ideal as this solution may sound, there are some flaws. The United States, for instance, is a nation known to be highly consumable and persistent in producing products for the greater society. Hence, it may not be the only feasible solution to prevent waste from harming the environment as it is difficult to alter the habits of the human population that has already adapted to mass production and consumption. Other measures on production are needed in order prevent further damage to the environment.

Environmental problems do not entirely result from human consumption. Activities in human production are also imperative to environmental issues, in which restrictions should also be placed on such practices. For instance, factories produce products that harm the environment, such as plastics that get thrown into the ocean and chemicals in shampoos or digital devices that get thrown into the environment. The products, in result, are harmful to the environment, which is not entirely controlled by the consumers who purchase these items. Therefore, business owners must have the obligation to create safe products that when thrown into landfills or unintentionally immersed into Earth’s bodies of water, they would not harm the environment. Therefore, while human consumers may be careful in their practices of limiting and disposing trash, it does not entirely solve all environmental issues as other factors, such as means of producing products, also have a detrimental effect on the environment. Hence, strict limits should be imposed on activities of production as well.

Restrcitions on activities of production not only tempers the harmful effect of products on the environment, but it would also help influence and limit what consumers buy. For instance, if companies and businesses begin selling and promoting eco-friendly products, humans will become more environmentally conscious and aware of what they consume. Consumers will have no choice, but to also adapt to the environmental awareness of what products are available to buy. Therefore, restrictions on products would also be the best way to help consumers limit the products they buy, as well as be cogent of using environmentally friendly products.

In conclusion, the statement itself is a complex statement to consider. While it is the best way to impose strict limits on the amount of trash in each household, it does not entirely solve environmental problems. Humans practices of waste are not entirely changed as many may still hold bad habits of consuming products and polluting waste in certains areas. Hence, it is vital that other restrictions are made on producers who deliver these products to consumers so that consumers can be influenced and forced to adapt to environmentally friendly practices.