Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In a class setting where students are called to be engaging learners, they must have the ability to process and understand the information they are learning. When information is confusing or ambiguous, it is important for students to ask questions rather than accepting the information passively. Asking questions removes students from perplexing information and leads to clarity, which can be an important asset when studying for exams or developing skills for field-work. For this reason, it is important to ask questions in class.

When learning new or relevant information in class, students must be able to understand the information they are given to them. When information is not lucid or straightforward, then questions must be asked. Asking questions removes students from not understanding. For instance, if a biology student was given unfamiliar terminology to study for an exam, such as “osmosis” or “shriveled blood cells,” then it would be crucial for the student to passively accept the information. If the student did not ask what the terminology meant, then the student would be left confused. When the student accepts the information passively without connecting the terminology to information in class, then the student becomes less prepared for an exam and may lose points. Likewise in a math class, it is important for a math student to ask questions about confusing formulas or equations. If the student fails to ask how to use a formula or solve an equation, then the student becomes less equipped for an exam and may become more confused as math problems become more complex for the rest of the school period. Furthermore, asking questions in class is crucial in order to remove students from uncertainty that may hinder their understanding and success in a class.

On the other hand, asking questions in class not only removes them from uncertainty, but prepares them for the work-force. Students that ask questions in class understand the skill-set needed for a job. For example, a culinary student is given a task to create a recipe on a sauce. If the student is confused about the recipe and does not understand how to measure certain ingredients, then the student will fail to perform a recipe. Therefore, asking how to cook a recipe is crucial to not only one’s knowledge but one’s readiness in the workforce. Hence, the student learns that when working in a restaurant, it is important to ask questions about the recipe in order to prevent a recipe from going bad and delivering poor results.

While it is crucial to ask questions in class, others may argue that asking questions in class is a waste of time and interrupts the flow of a class. For instance, in a biology class, loads of information is given and oftentimes there is no time to stop for questions. If a biology student asked multiple questions in class that involves lengthy explanations, it interrupts the class time for students. Additionally, some may argue that questions are meaningless and irrelevant to the class. Although precious class time may be wasted, questions are important and can be asked without wasting time. If any student had more than one question, they can simply go to office hours and discuss further without interrupting class time. Additionally, not all questions are irrelevant. A student who asks a question in class may be asking a question that other students are too shy to ask. Thus, the student makes a valuable contribution to class.

Furthermore, asking questions in class is crucial for students to be able to understand uncertain or ambiguous information. Additionally, students learn that asking questions is an important skill set in the workforce, which can prevent mistakes from being made. While asking questions may hinder class time, it is better safe than sorry to ask questions that may benefit the entirety of the class.