The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To live a life full of luxury and convenience removes one from the stress of having to do basic life chores. To have luxuries and conveniences, such as money, paid services, and advanced technology allow people to pay others to do certain work for them. Hence, the individuals with such luxuries and conveniences do not truly learn how to become strong and independent. While it may not be true that luxuries and conveniences do not prevent people from honing important life skills for independence, one has to consider the life one is positioned in to determine strength and independence.

Having luxuries and conveniences prevents basic life skills that are important to independence. For instance, if one has the ability to pay for services, such as cooking, cleaning, and doing laundry, then the individual misses out on being able to hone skills that are essential to everyday life. If the paid services were to be absent, then the individual would become lost and unsure how to manage life without the basic life skills. Additionally, being born into a wealthy family also hinders important life skills, such as work ethics. For instance, a child born into a wealthy family may grow up assuming that money will always be at hand and not have to worry about where the money comes from. However, when the child becomes an independent adult, he or she will not understand how to earn money and how to find a job. The child then misses out on work skills, such as how to have a good interview, how to communicate, and how to collaborate in a work environment.

While luxuries and conveniences prevent the development of important life skills for strength and independence, others may argue that it is not true. People who have the wealth or ability to pay others to do tasks for them allows them to become independent. For instance, a wealthy doctor may pay a maid to cook, clean, and do laundry while being able to do independent work, such as developing a new treatment method in replacement to surgery. On the other hand, a child who grows up into a wealthy family may be able to be strong and independent by gaining skills from tutors and technology that the wealthy family was able to pay for them. Although skills aren’t lost when having luxuries and conveniences, it does hinder the ability to become stronger and more independent.

In summary, luxuries and conveniences prevent people from honing skills that are important for strength and independence. While it may be true that skills and abilities can be developed with luxuries and conveniences, it actually prohibits the individual from being able to grow on their own.