In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any field of inquiry, whether it may be science or technology, the beginners are more likely to make important contributions within their field compared to experts. History has a way of showing that notable people who were not experts in their fields have contributed to advancements. While it may not be true that experts do not make important contributions, the contributions of beginners are more notable than the experts.

In the field of science, formidable contributions have been made from beginners rather than experts. For instance, Eratosthenes discovered the circumference of the earth just by using sticks to measure a certain angle of the world. He used his footsteps from one point to another to determine the measure of an angle and to calculate the circumference of the earth. Eratosthenes was no expert in the field of mathematics, however, his inquiries and calculations regarding the circumference of the earth proved accurate with the lack of advanced technology used. Hence, his mathematical contributions are widely used in basic geometry classes. Additionally in the field of science is Rosland Franklin who discovered the structure of the DNA. Rosalind Franklin was not an expert in the field of science, yet with the use of technology she was able to determine the structure. Rosalind Franklin made a major contribution in the field of science, in which the structure and role of DNA is vital in medications, treatments, and laboratory work.

In the field of technology, beginners have made formidable contributions to modern day advances. For instance, Henry Ford was no expert in the field of technology. However, his efforts to create the first car layed a foundation for several generations to advance in the models of cars. If it weren’t for Henry Ford, then there may have been a delay or halt in the advancement of transportation. Likewise in the field of technology, Steve Jobs made authentic contributions. Steve Jobs did not create the first computer, nor the first phone. However, his Apple products proved the advances in technology were endless. Steve Jobs contributed to the advancement of computer based technology and even advanced further altered the appearance of a phone. Furthermore, Steve Jobs was no expert in the beginning, however, he was able to make contributions that demonstrated his advancement in technology that later made him an expert in the field.

While it may be true that beginners are more likely to make contributions in their fields, some may argue that it is not true. It could be argued that experts are more likely to make contributions. For example, Albert Einstein was an expert in the field of science. Over time he was able to provide not just math formulas, such as E=MC^2, but he was able to advance in technology, such as the atomic bomb. In this sense, experts are more likely to make contributions since they hold years of knowledge. However, years of experience do not compare to the ability to make contributions, in which beginners are prime examples that demonstrate more contributions than others.

In conclusion, beginners are more likely to make contributions in their fields. While experts are also more likely to make valuable contributions, it does not compare to the beginners’ abilities to make contributions, which are more notable and recognized.