Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

One major influence for the extinction of endangered species results from human activities. However, human activities are not the only reason why an endangered species goes extinct. Therefore, I cannot completely agree with the implementation of a policy that only creates efforts to save an endangered species based solely on human activities. Other factors must be accounted for to save an endangered species.

Many endangered species that have gone extinct were the result of human activities. Therefore, it would make sense to implement a policy that saves an endangered species due to human influence. For instance, many corporations have committed deforestation in order to create products for human consumption. Deforestation has led to the destruction of many plants and trees. Another human activity would be pollution. Many humans have thrown waste into the oceans that have potentially harmed and even killed species. Even the amount of disposal that is dumped into landfills eventually enter the bodies of waters that harm species. There are several campaigns that go around to reduce or prohibit the use of plastics, such as straws, that have harmed sea turtles. Likewise, hunting contributes to the extinction of a species. The elephant population has died out due to hunters that seek to exploit their tusks for merchandise. For the aforementioned reasons, it would make sense to implement a policy to save endangered species due to the heedless actions of humans.

However, human actions are not the only major reasons for the extinction of a species. For instance, baneful fungi have the potential to wipe out a species. A frog species in Panama was wiped out due to a poisonous fungi that consumed the electrolytes of frogs and extirpated the species. Another potential harm to the extinction of a species is when there is a lack of reproduction. A species goes extinct because the population is not reproductive. Additionally, a species goes extinct when there are only a few members left in the colony, which may not be due to the human race, but due to changes in environment and weather patterns. Furthermore, it is crucial that the implementation of a policy acknowledges that human activities are not the only reasons for the extinction of a species. Other factors, such as a harmful fungi and lack of reproduction, are pertinent elements to consider in order to save a species.

In summary, I cannot completely agree with the implementation of a policy that only acknowledges the survival of a species due to human activities. If the policy was implemented, then it will only focus on saving some species, while other species go extinct. Hence, the policy should not be implemented, but should be revised to consider other factors that go into the survival of endangered species.