To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Public officials have the responsibility to demonstrate the highest ethical and moral standards in order to become effective leaders to the communities they serve. In turn, citizens would have the most profound impact from and respect for public officials. Therefore, I agree that to demonstrate a culmination of ethical and moral standards deems effective in order for the compliance of the civil body they serve. However, it can be argued that in such instances ethical and moral standards does not necessitate effective leadership. In that sense, the statement would be more of a black and white issue.

Public officials that demonstrate an apogee of ethical and moral standards prove effective leadership when serving society. Citizens would develop more trust and respect with public officials who reflect morality and justice. Take police officers, for instance, and their position in the United States government. Police officers have had a reputation with African Americans for unethically charging impediments and unjustifyingly inflicting harm through authority. African Americans over the past decades have protested for the gross unjust mistreatment. Recently, the Black Lives Matter protest has called to object the mistreatment of police officers who abuse their power on African Americans. However, during the protests, police officers have shown respect and acts of kindness towards African Americans, which has been video recorded and shared through social media with the emphasis that not all police officers are immoral. Therefore, when the community sees that public officials like police officers are serving to ethically and morally protect the communities they serve, they earn trust and respect from civilians. If not, however, the public grows hostile and throws an uproar against the unethical and immoral reputation of a public official.

The same can be said with presidents. Presidents who have demonstrated the highest ethical and moral principles have been able to serve compliance with the communities they serve. For example, Barack Obama was a public official who used sensitive and discerning use of speech in order to address issues of the public interest. While he was opposed by Republicans, he maintained his composure in office by showing less aggressive and savage demeanor and more attentive and careful use of speech. Obama’s ethics and morals led to a balancing act between both parties in order to avoid uproar and further conflict. Therefore, it is crucial that public officials, like presidents who serve their countries, maintain their probity so that further conflict can be avoided and maintain effective leadership.

While it is true that effective leadership calls for the highest ethics and morals, it can be argued that effective leadership can be done without the highest ethics and morals. For instance, dictators like Adolf Hitler and Agosto Pinochet were able to compel the communities they served through unethical and immoral acts. Though they have brutally attacked citizens, many people complied to their authority and even supported their leadership. Many grew hostile towards the opposers of dictators, hence supporting their foul immorality and lack of humane practices. Therefore, effective leaders do not necessitate the highest ethical and moral demeanor. However, this would deem unattractive in a world where human rights must be addressed with ethics and morals. In that sense, it would not be considered an approach to effective leadership when trying to serve the communities in a corrigible manner.

In conclusion, effective leadership from public officials must mirror the highest ethics and morals in order to serve communities in a justful manner. While effective leadership does not necessitate high ethics and morals, it will in turn lead to destructive and cruel practices to the goodwill of people.