In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that Waymarsh citizens prefer mystery novels rather than literary classics as a result of a study that was conducted, the argument does not make a cogent case that reading preferences were mistaken. Because the argument is rifed with holes and assumptions, the argument is unsubstantiated and completely flawed.

Firstly, the author implies that responses in the first study misrepresented their reading preferences for literary classics due to another study that showed a larger check out of mystery novels. Perhaps, the researchers in the first study conducted the survey unfairly. The study may have surveyed questions that only allowed respondents to answer whether they preferred literary classics or science fiction. If there were multiple genres for respondents to choose form, then perhaps respondents may have answered differently. Therefore, it is not the respondents fault, rather it is the structure of how the survey was conducted. If that were the case, then the assumption that respondents misrepresented their preferences would be faulty. The author must provide an open-ended survey that allows respondents to freely answer their preference of a book to read, which may elicit the appropriate response of reading mystery novels.

Secondly, the author assumes that people prefer mystery novels since they are the most checked out books in Waymarsh public libraries. While the assumption may be true, it could possibly be the case that mystery novels are the most popular books on the shelves of public libraries. Public libraries may not offer other genres, such as literary classions, fiction, and science. Therefore, more people would only be able to check out mystery novels, rather than other genres that the public libraries lack in providing. If that were the case, then it would go against the assumption that people only prefer mystery novels when really it may be the only genre available to read in public libraries. Thus, the assumption is flawed. The author must provide a survey at public libraries that demonstrate the public’s opinion on what they prefer to read

Moreover, the structure of the studies conducted may not be highly representative of the population. Because the researchers were the same for both studies, they may have placed a biased opinion on the structure and organization of the study. The researchers may have only surveyed five people in the first study. Therefore, the population is not representative of Waymarsh citizens. Additionally, they may have asked the wrong people. Because the researchers conducted the second study on how many books were checked out, they did not survey people in the first study who read and go to the library. Therefore, the studies may have been flawed, which would not support the author’s argument.

Furthermore, the author needs to address the assumptions by providing substantial evidence that citizens prefer mystery novels rather than literary classics. It could be due to the flaws in the structure of the studies that have led to misleading answers, not the respondents themselves. Thus, the author must provide appropriate evidence of open-ended surveys that demonstrate appropriate responses of the Waymarsh community.