The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues that in order to restore business in Central Plaza, there must be a prohibition of skateboarding activity in the area. However, the argument is not cogent enough to conclude that skateboarders are the only reason for why businesses are failing in Central Plaza. Therefore, questions must be answered in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the answers prove the argument otherwise, then the argument would be unsubstantiated and would be in need of correction.

Firstly, what happened in the last two years that led to a decrease of shoppers in Central Plaza? The author assumes that because of an increase in skateboarding activity, it must be the cause for a decrease in shoppers. Because correlation does not mean causation, skateboarding activity may not be the only reason a decrease in shoppers. Perhaps, within the two years, shoppers have found it easier and cheaper to shop online than to shop in-store. The vast development of technology and online shopping may contribute to a decrease of in-store shopping. Another confounding variable may be that shoppers are not satisfied with the prices in stores. Shoppers may have found other stores with better prices to shop. Furthermore, if there are other factors that contribute to the decrease in shoppers, then the prediction fails.

Secondly, are skateboarders proof of the dramatic increase in litter and vandalism? The author makes a biased assumption that skateboarders are likely to commit violent activity. However, not all skateboarders have a spiteful reputation. Therefore, anyone is capable of littering and causing vandalism. What the author must do is provide physical evidence, such as videos or witnesses, that catch skateboarders littering and vandalising Central Plaza. If the author does not provide the appropriate evidence, then it goes against the author’s argument.

Lastly, what are the previous high levels of business activity in Central Plaza? The author claims that business had a higher level in the past compared to the present situation, in which the blame is put on skateboarders for the decrease in levels. However, the author does not specify what exactly made the businesses successful in the past. The author must identify if businesses have changed their quality of services, which may have led to a decline in business. If the levels are the same, then perhaps skateboarders are to blame. However, if businesses have changed, then perhaps the changes have shewed customers away. Therefore, the author must identify the differences in business activities that may account for changes in customer attraction.

In conclusion, the questions to the argument must be answered in order to validate the author’s prediction. The author does not provide a significant amount of evidence to support the unstated assumptions that skateboarders are the only reason for why the number of shoppers decreased, why vandalism has increased, and why businesses are failing. If the author addresses the answers to the aforementioned questions, perhaps the argument is justified. If not, then the argument is completely flawed and the prediction is unwarranted.