It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the statement that humans primarily define themselves through social groups. Evolution proves that human beings are meant to be social creatures, regardless of how vastly different the world has changed overtime. Hence, it is highly probable that identification is built through social interactions. While it is possible that humans do not define themselves through social interactions, humans are incapable of escaping social interactions that ultimately help to survive a world that is continuously globalizing.

Society is capable of defining themselves through social interactions, which is needed for career and future development. For instance, in a mentorship program between high school students and adults, adults have the ability to mentor high school students who are looking to be guided through the college process. A high school student looking into medical school may be guided by a doctor or retired medical professional who is willing to offer advice in internships, skill-building, and science courses. The high school student benefits from the adult and is shaped by the one to one mentorship experience. When the high school student graduates from college and goes into the medical field, the student will never forget the fundamental experiences in being mentored that led to the prosperous road of being a doctor. Therefore, social interactions are needed in order to shape identity that leads to potential career development.

Community service outreaches have a way of shaping identities, in which one is able to define themselves through the social interactions within a community they serve in. Community service has a way of influencing individuals to be open-minded, humble, and empathetic. For instance, when a college student volunteers in a homeless outreach, the student is able to learn from others that experiencing destitution and hunger provides limitations in life. Hence, the student may grow empathetic to volunteer more hours and join others on how to assist individuals in the brink of poverty. Likewise, when a college student volunteers to help outside of the country, such as Ecuador, the student learns about a different culture and is influenced by the language, customs, and traditions. Furthermore, volunteer experiences are a gateway to shape identity and help prepare for various settings of the world.

On the other hand, it can be argued that people do not define themselves primarily through social groups. For instance, one may learn to develop skills on their own, such as practicing everyday how to draw and learning how to ride a bike on their own. Individuals are capable of being independent and learning to shape their personalities without the help of others. However, because individuals are called to interact with others regardless of any situation, there is a likelihood that identity is shaped through social interactions. Social interactions shape identities that are crucial to not only skill building, but also career development and long-lasting relationships.

In conclusion, I agree that social interactions are primarily defined through social groups. Humans are called to be social creatures, which is crucial for survival in the vast globalized world that we live in. Therefore, it is important that identities are shaped through social interactions that can prepare us for the world and for long-lasting relationships.