Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is crucial that an educator takes into consideration how a course can transform the education of students by not just providing them a prodigious amount of knowledge, but also supplying their engagement. Therefore, I agree with the claim that educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of students in order to increase engagement and motivations for learning. While the reason for the claim may be true, other reasons should be accounted for when considering the benefits of shaping a course for the interests of students.

Educators that take into account the interests of students can turn an insipid classroom into an engaging learning experience. Students oftentimes are required to take courses that they may not necessarily be interested in, but are crucial for the sake of their educational experience. For instance, high school students are required to take basic courses, such as math and history. Most students may find those courses to be intimidating or boring. If an educator were to just teach several lessons on the history of economics by skimming through powerpoint slides, then students may lose interest when coming into class everyday learning the same material in the same manner. However, if the educator considered what students may like to learn as part of history, then it will increase their engagement. Students would be motivated to come to class and learn a topic in favor of their interests.

On the other hand, educators who ask for suggestions from students have a higher likelihood of transforming an educational experience. Students are distinct individuals who do not absorb information in the same manner. Some students are visual learners and other students are auditory learners. If educators do not consider how students learn in a classroom setting, it can ultimately hurt the way students learn and engage in a class. Therefore, taking into account the suggestions of how students would like to receive information will not only enhance their experience, but may aid to improve their grades and engagement in a class. Let’s say, for example, students in a math class suggest to see problems physically solved on a board rather than listening to the professor delineate the solution. It would be vital for an educator to take this consideration into account. If not, students may easily be lost and lose interest since it is not in their favor to learn in that manner.

While I do agree with the reason for the claim, which implies that students will be more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying, other reasons should be accounted for. As mentioned earlier, taking the suggestions and considerations of students can enhance their learning experience and improve their grades. Educators who work to shape a course around students' interests will learn their flaws and develop techniques to combat those flaws. For example, a biology student may struggle to study content in class would find it helpful if the educator quizzed the student prior to coming to class in order to see whether they understood the material or not. Hence, it is vital that educators learn from what students suggest and are interested in so that their education can prosper.