The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author predicts that an increase in online degree programs will improve enrollment and solve budget problems. The author supports the argument by providing evidence in regards to Omni University’s success in online programs and decrease in expenditures. However, the argument is not cogent enough to make a prediction assuming that what works for one university will work for another. The validity of the argument must be questioned in order to determine whether the author’s prediction is reasonable.

One assumption made is that Humana University will succeed in enrollment and budgeting just like Omni University. However, what works for one university may not work for another university. The evidence provided by the author must be questioned in order to determine that the success of online classes and decrease in budget for Omni University will work the same for Humana University. First, the evidence that claims a 50% increase in online degree enrollment must be questioned. The author does not provide whether the increase was substantial or not. If a 50% increase was made by a student population of 10 students, then only only a small amount contributed to the increase. Whereas a 50% increase from a student population of 200 students would make a difference. Therefore, the answer to the question of how many students enrolled would determine the validity of whether the increase was substantial or not.

Another assumption made is that the author assumes that the decrease in expenditures on dorms and classroom space in Omni University is due to online programs. Because correlation does not mean causation, the decrease in budgets may not be due to an increase in online programs. Therefore, one must question the decrease in expenditures. If the decrease in expenditures were due to other reasons, such as an increase in commuter students and the lacking necessity to renovate classrooms, then the argument that online classes are the reason would fail. Therefore, the answer to this question would weaken the author’s prediction assuming that online classrooms are the reason for a decrease in budgets.

Another assumption made is that because more people are interested in online classes, as shown in Omni University, it will increase enrollment. However, one must question whether the lack of increase in Hamuna University may be caused by other factors. For instance, the lack of enrollment may be due to a deficiency of academic programs offered. Or, a lack of enrollment may be due a failure in promoting the college at college fairs or in high schools. Therefore, if the answers to the question turns out to be different from the increasing interest in online classes, then the prediction would fail. The author must address whether a lack of enrollment may be due to other factors. The author may do this by creating a survey on how the college can improve in increasing attraction for enrollment.

In conclusion, it may be reasonable to predict that because online classes are becoming more popular, they may increase enrollment and decrease expenditures in a college. However, the prediction proves invalid when other factors may contribute to an increase in enrollment and decrease in costs. Moreover, the author must create a valid prediction that takes into account other factors that may contribute to a college’s enrollment and budgeting success, such as the validity of statistical information and the differences of the other colleges.