The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor of Balmer Island Gazette argues that limiting the number of rentals on mopeds will reduce the number of accidents between mopeds and pedestrians in Balmer Island. While the prediction may have some merit, three questions must be answered in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the author fails to address the questions, then the entire argument is unsubstantiated and falls apart.

Firstly, how does the increase in population during the summer contribute to moped and pedestrian accidents. The author assumes that many accidents happen in Balmer Island during the summers because of an increase in population. However, the author does not describe whether the population increase is primarily pedestrians or people who excessively use mopeds. Perhaps, the population increase is newborns who are not capable of using mopeds on the island. What the author must do in order to reduce ambiguity is to provide a consensus as to whether the population increase are people who frequently use mopeds and are involved in pedestrian accidents. If the author does not provide relevant evidence, then the prediction is faulty.

Secondly, will limiting the number of mopeds per day reduce pedestrian accidents? The author assumes that because people mainly use mopeds as a mode of transportation, reducing moped use will reduce pedestrian accidents. However, it is likely that pedestrian accidents can occur even with the reduction of mopeds. Perhaps, accidents happen because there aren’t any stop signs or signals that warn moped drivers to slow down due to pedestrians in the area. Likewise, accidents may happen because moped drives do not practice safety regulations. Therefore, the author must ensure that other factors are considered to maintain the safety of a pedestrian. While limiting transportation may help, it does not necessarily stop accidents. Hence, the prediction fails if other confounds aren’t considered to reduce pedestrian accidents.

Lastly, what limits did Seaville's town council enforce to reduce moped and pedestrian accidents. The author assumes that following similar restrictions as Seaville will reduce the number of accidents in Balmer Island. However, it is likely that the circumstances in Seaville are different compared to Balmer Island. The author states that Seaville's has a “50 percent annual reduction” in moped accidents. This indicates that moped accidents reduced over the year, not over the summer. Perhaps, Seaville's did not reduce moped driving, but placed more safety restrictions. It is likely that Seaville's fifty percent reduction is from a population of 1,000 people, compared to the 100,000 thousand in Balmer Island. Therefore, moped accidents in Seaville throughout the year may not be as high as Balmer Island throughout the summer. Furthermore, the author must determine what limits that Seaville enforced, which may have been law enforcement. If law enforcement were the case, then it would go against the author’s prediction that reduction of mopeds were effective in Seaville and will be effective in Balmer Island.

In conclusion, the author must address the aforementioned questions in order to validate the prediction. The author must do the following: provide statistical data that population increase is the reason for moped and pedestrian accidents, consider the confounds of reducing pedestrian accidents, and identify the measures taken by Seaville that successfully reduced their accidents. If the author does not provide substantiating evidence, then the prediction is fallacious.