College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

College students should have the option to pursue subjects that interest them, which would be most advantageous towards their future careers and skill building. Choosing subjects that are more interesting allow college students to narrow their focus on their interests that can ultimately be turned into potential careers. While it can be argued that adopting the recommendation may not be advantageous, it does not degrade the fact that college students have the potential to shape their futures with something they love to do.

College students that pursue subjects that interest them have the ability to focus on a career they may be diligent to pursue to do after graduation. For instance, a college student who does well in math and has more interest in solving equations and using formulas would have a higher likelihood of choosing math classes that may prepare the student for potential careers, such as being a business manager, architecture, or engineer. A college student that loves science would be interested in taking science courses, such as chemistry, biology, and physics. Interests in those subjects can also lead the student to potential jobs, such as being a nurse, doctor, or health practitioner. Therefore, if students choose subjects that interest them, then they have the ability to turn that fond interest into a career they can be passionate about instead of being miserable.

In addition to being able to pursue a career of interest, students who choose their own subjects of interest are capable of honing their skills. For instance, if a student who is very good at art is interested in taking art classes, the student will be able to advance in skills such as painting, drawing, and sculpting. Likewise, a culinary arts student can advance their skills by choosing courses of interest, such as the art of chopping or how to develop an exquisite recipe, which are most vital skills for becoming a chef. Hence, by choosing subjects that can not only be turned into careers, a student is able to develop and master skills required for the workfield.

On the other hand, it can be argued that choosing subjects of interest may not be advantageous as the recommendation may hinder a student from being open-minded and developing other essential skills for the workforce. For instance, if a student is only interested in taking math courses, then the student misses out on learning other subjects that can help lead to potential jobs. Subjects, such as psychology and public speaking, are also vital to job applications. No matter where a student launches his or her career, it is crucial to know how to speak with people, since the real world is multifaceted in scenarios of human interaction. Hence, the student misses out on the opportunity to enhance their skills and becomes narrow-minded. However, adopting the recommendation would be more advantageous as students can build other skills along the way of studying and preparing for their future careers, such as taking internships and extracurricular activities that can expose them to develop social skills.

In conclusion, it is crucial that students take interest in subjects that can lead them to potential careers they may learn to love and become professionals. While it may be advantageous to take courses that lead to jobs, it undermines the college student’s ability to flourish in a field they may love. Besides, who would want to work in a field they don’t love for the rest of their lives?