Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Students who are willing to provide insight in their own education can ultimately enhance their learning experience. Educators who take the recommendations of students on shaping their curriculum can improve the classroom setting and engage students to learn. Therefore, I agree that educators should find out what students want in their curriculum and then offer it to them for the sake of benefiting their educational experience. However, I can only agree to an extent as there is a limit to what an educator should offer to students, or else it would create an imbalanced power between the educator and students.

Students who voice their opinions in what should be included in their curriculum can enhance their learning experience. Because there are different types of learners, students may be visual learners while other students are auditory learners. For instance, in a math class, students may benefit from seeing math problems written on a board. This would allow students to discern information easily rather than listening to the educator explain the steps of a problem. On the other hand, students are not only different types of learners, but also have different study skills. Educators are constantly providing students with material that may be tested on via quizzes or exams. Students who voice their opinions on how they want to learn can help them succeed on an exam. For example, students in a biology class are required to learn a strenuous amount of material from biomolecules to theories in ecology. Therefore, a study guide or a review session may be useful for students to help them know what would be on the exam or not. Hence, students who voice their opinions can help shape their curriculum to help them learn and succeed in a class.

However, educators who take too much into the consideration of what students want in a curriculum can backfire. Students may want less of what is necessary and crucial for their education. For instance, in a public speaking class, students who want less presentations in a class and more written material may lose the benefit of overcoming their fear in public speaking or vice versa in strengthening their public speaking skills. On the other hand, students may want less exams or quizzes in a class. However, quizzes and exams are vital in testing the knowledge of what students learned in a class. Therefore, if educators were to constantly apply what students want in a curriculum, it can impede benefits for students’ education.

Additionally, applying the recommendation would lead to an imbalancing power in a classroom setting. Students may overpower what goes in and out of a curriculum. Therefore, educators may have no space to implement their own knowledge and creativity in teaching students. For instance, history classes may often seem boring to students. If students voice that they want less historical knowledge on the subject of world history, then it would prevent an educator from being able to teach students the pertinence of world history. Educators may lose the privilege of spreading their knowledge to students and creating fun activities around subjects that seem boring to a student. Furthermore, and imbalancing power can hinder the educator from being creative and spreading intellect.

In conclusion, I can only agree that students should voice their opinions for what they want in a curriculum. However, educators should only provide the wants of students to an extent. If not, students may lose sight of what is beneficial to their education and educators would lose the advantage of being creative and poviding insight on subjects that matter.