The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that sales of Whirlwind games will dramatically increase by applying lifelike graphics and extending their advertising campaign. While the argument may have some merit, it is rifed with unstated assumptions that need to be addressed. The assumptions need to be examined in order to determine whether the argument is cogent enough to claim an increase in Whirlwind profits. If the assumptions are not addressed, then the argument is unsubstantiated and completely falls apart.

Firstly, the author implies that video-game players will buy video games with lifelike graphics. However, the author provides evidence that does not hold weight in the argument. The author claims that lifelike graphics require the most-up-to-date computers. While the survey asked video-game players their most desired feature, there is no evidence indicating whether the players have the most up-to-date computers to be able to play video games with lifelike features. If players do not have updated consoles, then they are less likely to purchase the video games. Therefore, the author must provide evidence that surveys video-game players who are willing and able to buy Whirlwind games that require the most up-to-date computers. If not, then the author will not increase in sales.

Secondly, the author insinuates that Whirlwind will gain many customers only through an extensive amount of advertisement directed at people from ten to twenty-five years old. However, while a campaign that targets a specific age group that is most likely to play may increase customer attraction, the author’s partiality towards the age group can ultimately backfire. The author fails to mention the type of video games that are being advertised. If the video games have a specific age restriction, such as twenty-one years and older, the Whirlwind is advertising to the wrong age gap. Additionally, there is no evidence that indicates whether adults over the ages of twenty-five are less likely to play. Technology has increasingly become accessible to the hands of society, and there is no surprise that thirty year olds are capable of playing video games. Therefore, the author must provide evidence that indicates whether the video games are age appropriate to the advertised group and whether people over the age of twenty-five are less likely to play. If not, then Whirlwind may be advertised incorrectly and lose potential customers for increase in sales.

Lastly, the author implies that sales are most likely to increase in a few months versus the two years that Whirlwind did not receive sales. Perhaps, with successful knowledge of what customers want and effective advertisement, this is possible. However, the author does not provide any substantial data that indicates whether sales are likely to increase. If data shows that sales have increased the first two months, then there is a possibility that sales will continue to increase. However, sales are likely to decrease if an economic crash were to happen or whether consumers are less likely to purchase games during a specific time of the year. Therefore, the author must show data of the expenditures of people that spend on video games throughout the year and whether video games are purchased frequently or occasionally. If not, then sales may not increase.

In conclusion, the argument holds a number of unaddressed assumptions. The author must provide evidence, such as surveys and statistical data, that prove people are willing and able to buy video games from Whirlwind. If not, they Whirlwind may continue to lose profit if they are not addressing the right measures to increase sales and attract consumers.