In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways . But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the attempt to improve highway safety in Prunty County, the author argues that adopting the same measures that Butler County used five years ago would reduce reported accidents instead of reducing the speed limit. While the argument may have some merit, the argument is not cogent enough due to insufficient evidence. The evidence provided by the author needs to be evaluated in order to determine the validity of the argument. If the evidence does not hold weight, then the entire argument is unsubstantiated and in need for improvement.

The first evidence in need for evaluation is the number of incidents after reducing the speed limit from 55 miles to 45 miles. The author assumes that reducing the speed limit would not work since the number of incidents did not decrease and the reports that many drivers surpass the speed limit. However, the author does not provide relevant evidence. Accidents may have not reduced because the decrease in speed limit was not enough. The author must continue to lower the speed limit to see if it makes a difference in the number of accidents. If the author does not provide sufficient evidence for support, then the argument is faulty.

Another piece of evidence is the reports on speed limits. The author assumes that reducing the speed limit does not prevent drivers from speeding. However, the author does not provide substantial evidence. Drivers may have surpassed the speed limit due to a lack of enforcement in penalization. Perhaps, drivers exceed the speed limit because they will not be punished. In other words, drivers may have a higher likelihood of following the speed limit if other measures of enforcement are taken. Furthermore, the author fails to provide substantiating evidence that the reduction of speed limit fails. The author must ensure whether surpassing the speed limit reports is a result of a lack of enforcement. If the author does not provide relevant evidence that reduction in speed limit is a poor option, then the argument fails.

The last piece of evidence would be the measures taken by Butler County five years ago. The author assumes that because Butler County took different measures to ensure highway safety instead of reducing speed, it will work the same for Prunty County. However, the evidence is not enough to prove that what works for Butler County will work for Prunty County. The author does not provide statistical data differentiating the number of incidents in Butler County five years ago compared to the past year. Five years ago, Butler County may have had a larger population of drivers compared to the past year. There is a possibility that the number of drivers on the highway decreased, which led to a decrease in incidents. Therefore, it is not the case that the measures taken resulted in reduced accidents. Furthermore, the author must determine the demographics of the region in order to ensure whether the measures taken influenced minimal accidents or was it because over time people stopped driving on the highway.

In conclusion, the author must provide relevant evidence in order to support that reducing the speed limit is futile. If not, then the argument fails.