Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects Last month Book and Bean a combination bookstore and coffee shop announc

The author posits that by replacing children's books section with a cafe Monarch Books can increase profits. To bolster his claims he has put forward few evidences. One of the them is as census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten sales of children's books are likely to decline. Secondly, it can ward off competition with Book and Bean by adding instore cafe. In order to consider the argument viable author has to go through scrupulous discussions and answer the below three questions.

Firstly, the statistics of people in Collegeville drinking coffee is never mentioned. There might be chances that people in that particular area doesn't prefer coffee. There can also be chances of scarcity of coffee products and the staff need to be employed to serve and keep the coffee shop area clean. If minimal number of people visit the coffee section then the amount paid to the employees would be more than the profits they actually generate by initiating this new idea. If this is considered a viable fact then the argument would be undermined.

In addition, the percentage of children below 10 might decline. There could be chances that fifteen year old are still interested in this books. These books can also be used for gifting purpose. What if the people in this area buy books as gifts to distribute among orphanages? There will be lump sum profit generated instantly instead of waiting for a whole day for customers to arrive. Also, the new coffee shop requires modifications to be done to the shop along with furniture which would turn lead to loss.

Lastly, everybody has a different taste compared to other. For instance, people in Collegeville might prefer a serene environment while studying. If coffee shop is introduced in such place one can use phone which will disturb others while reading their book. Furthermore, children could come along with their parents causing noise which actually destroys a peaceful environment ideal for studying. Keeping all the factors and cost assumptions in mind the Monarch Books shop should take a step forward.

To conclude, the argument is flawed with various unwarranted assumptions and can be considered tenable only if author provides further evidence and answers to the above questions. At this point the argument is almost dubious and falls flat with all these misleading questions.