"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that as climate get colder during winter many homes need oil in order to heat their houses. For this reason, they should invest in the sale of home heating oil to make a good profit. However, the premises upon which he/she puts his/her claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that the most homes in the northeastern United States traditionally used oil in order to heat their homes. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if oil is still popular among people with the advent of new and modern technology for heating homes. One point that should be considered is that there is a possibility that majorities of people prefer to use gas in order to heat their homes. Indeed, nowadays, gas is used popularly among people, which is cheaper than oil. It is also important to say that the author does not show to the extent homes in that region use oil during winter. Maybe they use oil for other purposes, not to heating homes. Or perhaps they just save oil in their reservoirs for repairing things.

The author also asserts that climate predictors anticipated that weather might get colder for many years. Although it might seem tenable at the face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that we all know that forecasters just predict the climate condition and what if their prediction do not come true? What if the weather gets milder or even warmer? Indeed, the prediction could not guarantee that people will need oil in many years. Alongside that, perhaps the climate get colder just for a short time not too many years who knows?

Finally, as set forth by the author as population increase in this region, crowds of homes are building in the response to population growth. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if these homes are building traditionally or with the latest modern technology. One point that should not go unnoticed is that new construction are based on new technology and new technology include new heating condition. There is a possibility that new homes do not need to be heated by oil due to the fact that modern technology heats the homes better than oil or perhaps cheaper. In this situation, investment in home heating oil will not be profitable.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.