The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper. "Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editorial does an astute job at listing the elementary components necessary to come to a resolution for traffic problems on Blue Highway. Unfortunately, the column fails to acknowledge the necessary questions that need to be answered before making an absolute decision. It is imperative that the motorists' lobby dig further into the facts and answer the neccessary detailed questions.

Rush-hour traffic has gained notoriety as being bad in the past, but Blue Highway's commuter time doubling is an aberration. How could it have gotten to this point? What do the demographics of the area look like? One can assume that population growth has rapidly increased; if growth has become rampant, a new freeway altogether may supplant as a better solution. What does the infrastructure in place already look like? If the city is growing at such an uncontrollable pace, it may be best to build a subway. Work is critical for the business ecosystem of any city, and a delayed commute takes away from that.

The motorists' lobby's first inclination to pacify the traffic is to expand the highway. At first, this may seem intuitive. After noting that a similar action was taken last year and traffic worsened, it is apparent that the problem needs to be examined on a more granular level. Why is the traffic so bad in the first place? Perhaps it isn't the sheer volume of commuters but rather the lack of exits that has caused these delays. Less exits can cause congestion which would disrupt the natural flow of Blue Highway's infrastructure. Further, why has widening the highway made traffic worse for the Green Highway? The public likely interpreted the press of a new highway lane as a more efficient way to work which led those who typically took other routes to work to switch to the Green Highway. Before alotting the resources to building out a new lane, it is pivotal that the lobbyists deduce the true meaning behind the initial traffic increase.

Adding a bike lane creates a simple, environmentally friendly solution which is sure to alleviate the budget of the tax payers. That being said, it is crucial to survey commuters and see how many may use their bikes to get to work. Many area residents may be avid cyclists, but riding a bike from the suburbs to the urban center could be miles long. Nobody wants to go to work enveterated and in a sweaty stupor. Since the bike lane has not been implemented before, it is a risk. Asking denizens who intends to use the bike lane to commute to work would illustrate the proper statistics necessary to make an informed decision.

Commuting time on the Blue Highway has become a daily nuisance for the working class; it needs to be fixed. The motorists' lobby makes assumptions that scratch the surface of what needs to be looked at. They are on the right track, but a more detailed observation is in order.