The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter received by the Parkville Daily Newspaper editor has concluded that it is better to discontinue athletic competition for children under the age of nine. The author of the letter in their defense has talked about the large number of injuries that youth league sports have caused in the past year. He or she has also stated interviews with children admitting to psychological pressure from their parents and coaches. He or she also believes that the time spent in playing these sports could be better utilized for academic purposes. Before going ahead with this recommendation we have to analyze some of the obvious assumptions by the author.

Firstly, we do not have any details about the total number of students under nine participating in the youth-league sports the previous year. Because of this, we cannot understand if the number stated, 40000, is even a big enough cause of worry. Furthermore, this study does not state the type of injuries suffered by such players. It is possible that even minor injuries, which are a part of everyday sports, have been considered while publishing these numbers. Thus, without knowledge of the total number of children in youth-league sports and the type of injuries recorded we cannot understand whether this statistic is worth consideration or not.

Secondly, we need to find out what a nine year old exactly considers to be psychological pressure and what is assumed by the interviewer. If a child simply admits that his coach and parents always want him to win, this is a trivial situation as this is the case with every parent and coach. From the given details it is not clear whether a child admits to psychological pressure or whether it is simply inferred by the their interviewer. Hence, proper information and details about the questions and responses need to be produced to be actually able to understand the mental space of the child.

Thirdly, the author of the letter has assumed that the disadvantages of an nine year old child playing sports is simply greater than the numerous advantages. This is a very gross oversimplification. In the age bracket being talked about it is extremely important for a child to stay active and socialize. It is in this age that a child understands his/her interests and tries to pursue a future path in it. Simply removing this exceptionally important aspect from a child’s childhood is irresponsible on its own.

Due to the above stated reasons and unwarranted assumption by the author, the argument as it stands now, is flawed. To further understand and analyze the recommendation more evidence is required (perhaps in the form of a more systematic and detailed study). Only then would we be able to evaluate its viability. Therefore, we have concluded that currently, the facts stated by the author do not hold water and more proof is required to understand and consider the argument effectively.