Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Education is a tool to that helps carve an individual’s thoughts and actions. The given prompt tells us about the two different types of notions about that exist about education. One group of people consider education’s role as the liberation of the mind and spirit while the other group thinks that formal education is rather contributing to their restrainment. I strongly believe in the former.

Education today, helps define a person and their skills. It acts as a buffer for a person abilities and talent. Without education finding success is extremely difficult in this competitive world scenario. For instance, an uneducated person although possessing the intelligence and wisdom to succeed, will fail to do so without pursuing formal education. This feeling of not getting something even when having the required talent and knowledge can be soul-crushing. A situation like this does exactly the opposite of freeing one’s mind and spirit. It instead demolishes their hopes and spirit due to their continuous failure in a world which requires basic literacy to work. This example illustrates that even though some people may have the required know-how for jobs they will have an extremely tough time finding opportunities in today’s world, thus completely upsetting their mental peace.

Secondly, education helps one structure their own thoughts and action in a much more cohesive manner. Throughout, history it has been observed that people finding the path to enlightenment and searching for the true meaning of life, are always hungry to find out the various answers and get educated. Buddha, formerly King Siddhartha left all his kingly pleasures and desires to become a monk. He began his quest for the inner peace and satisfaction by consuming every piece of knowledge from any spiritual teacher who would entertain him. His success and teachings show us that proper education and understanding of the various complexities of life definitely helps us reach one step closer to liberation of our minds and spirits

Although some may argue that their exist many real world outliers that have proved that education is not a necessity for peace of mind and spirit, the fact that these people are so statistically rare only prove the thesis even more. Education helps a person deal with various circumstances throughout their life. Coupled with hard work and determination it helps them succeed and attain mental peace and satisfaction of mind. It helps give meaning to their actions and thoughts and better understand the true meaning of life.