The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The author in this letter is keen on providing investment advice to a client to invest in Consolidated Industries in the northeastern United States. Based on this fallacious assumption, he advises his client to invest in Consolidated Industries. However, the author fails to consider other alternative explanations. He also presents no concrete evidence to bolster his argument. Thus the conclusion is incredible

Firstly, the author thinks that because of the typically cold winters in the northeastern parts of United States, there will be a surge in oil sales as the people have traditionally used oil as the major fuel for heating. I think this prediction of the author about oil sales is pretty unstated and lacks evidence. The author did not attach any pieces of evidence like a survey or an interview in which people have talked about the need for a greater amount of oil for heating in the winter. So to predict the outcome just on previous seasons' winters' does not bolster the author's claims.

Furthermore, the author cites the weather forecasters' claim about weather pattern repeating for several more years. There is no proof about the credibility of forecasters mentioned in the letter. Over that, the forecaster's prediction of 'several more years' seems to be vague and untrustworthy. Thus, the accuracy of the weather predictors has to be taken into conclusion before drawing any inferences.

Finally, recent population growth is an undetermined way to predict the rise in oil sales. Maybe, because of the cold conditions in these parts, the population had been only a few homes, and addition to a small size population does have a sizeable impact on oil sales. Also, the author does not mention about the oil consumption of the newly built homes in the region. Maybe, the new homeowners do not use oil as their fuel. The lack of answers makes the author's assumption unwarranted.

In conclusion, the authors claim are filled with flaws and incomplete with inappropriate reasoning. Had the author stated more evidence to support the claims, the arguments would have been more mettle and debatable. The argument would also be more convincing and well-reasoned.