Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Competition is an event where two or more people compete to gain a higher position. In today's world, there is competition in every field, be it education, politics, technology, innovations, and so on. The competition for grades in the education sector has grown immensely over the years. In my view, these competitions for achieving higher grades have only motivated students to perform better at a particular event be it academics or extracurricular activities. So, I disagree with the author that competition for higher grades hinders the quality of learning.

To start with, we know how important role education plays in our lives. A well-qualified person, equipped with every skill is bound to achieve success and gets acknowledged everywhere in the world. So, to achieve this greatness, one has to compete with numerous other competitors in his life at every stage. Similarly, when we compete for grades in an examination we understand our potential and can compare it with other people. These comparisons teach us what we are lacking and what we need to work on to achieve what we want. Without these competitions, one would never look back at oneself and correct the mistakes one had committed previously.

Furthermore, when we fail at a juncture, competition is what motivates us to make a comeback and prove the world our potential. For instance, consider education institutes

not conducting examinations. Will every student be concerned to study? The pressure of these examinations and keenness to achieve good grades is what makes students study and work hard. Similarly, these competitions in fact improve the quality of learning rather than limiting it. On the other hand, I also feel that these exams can pressurize the students in certain ways. But without a little pressure, we can become complacent and unconcerned.

In conclusion, I feel that competitions are a must for making studies more interesting and giving them importance is necessary. Without competition, our motivation will be depleted and our development will come to a halt. There is a saying 'Competition brings the best in us', so to bring out our best and fulfill our goals we must keep competing at every stage in life.